In My Kitchen – September 2014

Yippee, it is officially Spring – days will be getting warmer and evenings will be getting longer – oh happy days.

Thanks to the lovely Celia’s over at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial, we get the opportunity to peek into so many wonderful and different kitchens every month.  If you haven’t already, why don’t you share a little of what is in your kitchen with us.

In my kitchen…

Are the most beautiful napkin / flower holders.  We originally only had 3 and my sister-in-law Trish had the other 3 so I asked I could have her 3 – she lovingly obliged.  They originally belonged to our parents-in-law.  I would love to hear where they originated from.

napkin flower holders

In my kitchen…

Are an ever growing pile of matches which Pete collects from the various countries he visits.  Seems though, our Lion (not photographed) brand of matches are still the best.

Matches

In my kitchen…

Is a bacon, mushroom and leak creamy pasta – a fabulous dinner with plenty leftover for lunch.

Bacon, mushroom leak pasta

In my kitchen…

Is dried lemon grass which I found at Woolies.  I am looking forward to using it in a curry soon.

Lemon grass

In my kitchen…

Are drying peppadews – the seed with be planted soon and hopefully we we will have lots of peppadew baby plants.

Drying peppadews

In my kitchen…

Is a Mandy special – I never inherited my mom’s ability to arrange flowers.  I thought strelizia’s and red Brazilian peppercorn branches would make a nice display.  I will endeavour to get better.

Strelitias

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up.

93 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – September 2014

  1. Mandy darling, what are papadews? Those napkin or flower holders are stunning! I’d love to know their vintage too! xox

    • Hi Lizzy, peppadew is the brand name of sweet piquant peppers (a breed of capsicum baccaum) originally grown in the Limpopo province of South Africa. I absolutely adore my napkin flower holders, very special. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  2. I’m not good at arranging flowers either – hopeless! I love the look of your napkin rings. I’ve never seen anything like them. They would be stunning at a dinner party – if you can arrange the flowers! xx

  3. G’day! LOVE you napkin holders and with a tear in my eye (in a good way!), I LOVE Bird of Paradise, so thank you for brightening my day!
    Thanks also for this month’s kitchen view too!
    Cheers! Joanne

  4. I too love those special napkin flower holders..I think you did a pretty awesome job in arranging those flowers. Lots to learn from you, Mandy.
    Have a great week!
    Angie

  5. I love the match box collection. Each one tells a story. Your pasta would make a perfect lunch for today. The napkin holders are stunning and I bet they could tell a few stories too. I am so behind. I really need to get on with my IMK post. Emma xx

  6. I too am in love with your flower/napkin holders. Your pasta dish is making me hungry. I have leeks in my garden ready for harvest, will try to find a recipe for your dish.

    • Hi Marian, thanks for stopping by. You can use peppadews just as you would chillies and peppers. They are fabulous preserved and scrumptious on top of a pizza. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  7. I wonder if you have any antique experts or appraisers near you who could give you more information on those lovely napkin holders. I didn’t realize what they were at first but they’re so unique it would be interesting to know more about them.
    I need to start a matchbook collection like Pete’s since I can never find matches for the candles when I need some. Problem is, you just don’t see them in many places any more.
    I think you did a very beautiful flower arrangement Mandy. Those professionals cheat with foam and tape, just like the food you see in magazines looking a little too perfect.
    Happy spring to you. Alas, we just ate dinner on the porch – in the dark (couldn’t find the matches and the bulb burnt out in the overhead light). It’s hard to believe that we’re racing toward winter here since we’re in the middle of a hot/humid heat wave.

    • We have quite a few unique pieces from Pete’s folks. We have most of it locked away – quite sad really. We have recently spoken about getting everything appraised but it all falls by the wayside when Pete is away. It is on the ever growing list of things to do. I will let you know what we find out.🙂
      Pete has a special inbuilt radar to find matches.😀
      Thank you for your lovely compliment on my arrangement Diane. I think the less I try to arrange and just put the better.
      I would love to send you some matches but I am not sure if we can post such things.
      Have a beautiful day and enjoy the warm weather while it lasts.🙂 xo

  8. A great look into your kitchen, Mandy. Those napkin/flower holders are beautiful and quite unusual. Your peppadews sound like our cherry bomb peppers. Just last weekend i pickle what will probably be the season’s last. If you didn’t inherit your Mom’s ability to arrange flowers, where did your talent come from? That arrangement looks beautiful. Have a great week!

    • Awww you, you are such a sweetheart, thank you for always lifting my spirits John. Please email me your postal address so I can send you some peppadew seeds for you. Not sure if they will grow in your climate but hey, we are always up for a challenge right? Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  9. You have a such a bright and cheerful kitchen with lots of fun things. I had to google what a peppadews plant was and oh boy that will be delicious to have more of those around. Love those stuffed with a little cheese and drizzled with olive oil. I love your napkin holders they are very original. That is a good idea to have your hubby bring back matches from each country he visits. Small, light and I am all out of them and with typhoon season around the corner I will need to have some of those in my emergency stash. Have a super week. BAM

  10. I have never seen anything like your napkin rings, they are incredible, just crying out for a fancy dinner party! I’m a fan of pepperdews too although had not thought to dry them out and plant them before – our local deli stuffs them with goats cheese which tastes amazing.

  11. It’s getting to be fall here in the states, so my kitchen is filled with buckets of tomatoes, beans and other veggies that I need to get canned or frozen! I think your flowers look quite nice, though I too wish I have more skill with that🙂

  12. Your lovely flower arrangement reminds me of when I lived in Florida and all the tropical flowers that grew there. Your napkin holders are exquisite…how pretty they will make a dining table when you entertain.

  13. Would love the recipe for your creamy pasta. It sounds divine! I’m on a pasta kick right now.🙂 Also love your napkin/flower holders. They are so unique. Simply gorgeous.

    • Hi Kristy. There isn’t much of a recipe for the pasta, I just fried bacon, mushrooms an leek until tender then added a crushed garlic clove, powdered chicken stock and double thick cream and seasoned with salt and black pepper. Sorry there isn’t a real recipe. I am starting to get worried about the tea which hasn’t arrived with you yet. I am ever hopeful it will arrive soon. I am hoping to do your tasting this weekend – can’t wait. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

      • This is a perfect recipe Mandy! I will make it very soon.🙂 I’m still hopeful your tea will arrive. I’m fairly certain it took mine 4-6 weeks to get to you. I wonder where all it goes. What a fascinating story that could make! I hope you enjoy the teas this weekend.🙂

          • I have had the most wonderful day taste testing the tea you sent. Can’t wait to put a post together which I will publish on the 16th of this month.🙂 Thanks again! xo

  14. What gorgeous napkin/ flower holders! They have such an intricate design and I am sure looks so polished on a set table. I really love the flavors of lemongrass and a good dried version is nice to have on hand for added flavors to a dish or curry. What a lovely floral arrangement, too! Nice to visit you through IMK!

  15. In our kitchen this month–the offerings that come with the end of summer. Freshly cut watermelon and cantaloupe. Tomatoes, peppers and eggplant. The first of the winter squashes. And the promise of fall.

    • Hi Celia, the napkin holders are silver (in need of a good clean). Thank you for your lovely compliment about my arrangement. Have a wonderful week ahead and thanks for stopping by.🙂 xo

  16. Pingback: In My Kitchen – September 2014 | Photographs and recipes

  17. Are you kidding? What needs more fussing when you have beautiful Birds of Paradise and berries to show off together! Looks fantastic. As for the rest, so much to delight eye, palate and heart! I was fortunate to find some lemongrass preserved in vinegar and have loved it, so am somewhat placated for having no Woolies nearby anymore (they all closed around here some years ago, sadly, even the one near grad school that still had a vintage lunch counter straight out of the 1950s). That bacon-mushroom-leek pasta sounds a dream; I have some mushroom risotto in the fridge that I will add bacon and maybe (if I have some) peas to for supper, thanks to your inspiration—and not forgetting to add some cream!🙂

    It amuses me that matches (in small quantities, anyway) don’t seem to be problematic to security organizations that monitor our travel, when they get mighty huffy over a bottle of water or face lotion. I’m of the mindset that says criminals, especially international terrorists, will always find a way, so making life far more complex for the vast majority of honest, law-abiding travelers seems only to put on an inconvenient show that diverts the nasties to other channels. Though I *will* say that it’s handy to be *able* to take a small packet of matches along, either as a portable artful memento like Pete’s or because (as is often my wish) to take them *to* places visited in case of horrid-smelling public restrooms or the like!😉😉 :0

    Continuing my way backward through your kitchen tour, I am in awe of those napkin/flower holders. I’ve never seen anything like them, and they are exquisitely designed as well as useful. Beyond the obvious use of holding flowers and serviettes, indeed, I would say that their sheer unique beauty would compel even the most slovenly or immature person at table to want to use a napkin!😀

    So much fun, as always, to visit in your magical kitchen!
    Love and hugs and wishing you a happy latter half of the week!
    Kath

    • Kath, thank you for your lovely words about my flower arranging. Lemongrass preserved in vinegar sounds fabulous! I can just imaging the flavour. Nooo, how can a Woolies close – I wonder if yours and ours are the same. I believe what we call Woolworths here, the folk from the UK call it Marks and Spencer. I wonder what happened to the vintage lunch counter – what a treasure. Ooo, mushroom risotto sounds heavenly especially with the addition of bacon and peas.😀
      Pete has resorted to purchasing a pair of slip on shoes for all his travels as it is most awkward trying to put your shoes back on at the airport while being ushered through the terminals with hundreds of other passengers. He doesn’t wear a belt either to help speed up the process. Honestly, it is all getting a little out of control. Then there is also the having to take his watch off, take his laptop out of his book to be scanned separately oh and his cell phone and pen also have to get scanned separately too. Whatever next!
      Seems the napkin/flower holders are a hit – so happy everybody likes them as much as me.
      Love and hugs to you too dear Kath. Can’t believe it’s Friday again tomorrow. All good as it is one sleep closer to my Pete being home with me again. 🙂 xoxoxo

  18. Hi Mandy – what a lovely post – those napkin holders/vases are spectacular – how sweet of your SIL to let you have her three. The glass looks Victorian and the bases look Asian – fascinating!! Flower arranging is not easy but I think you have done a marvellous job! Are those from your garden? And peppadews are one of my favourite mezze snacks! Will look forward to see the progress of those seeds next year! Have a wonderful day!

  19. Wow those napkin rings are something else. I might be a bit afraid to use them as such – they look too delicate. And do you take a nip of something out of the goblets?! Lovely to look into your kitchen Mandy.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

