Baked Sweet Potato with Philadelphia, Dates & Coriander

Quite frankly this is a meal all on it’s own and I have been known to enjoy it more than once for lunch and is another fabulous recipe I inherited from my sister-in-law Karin.  I am also hooked on serving these for guests and they accompany everything from a braai to a roast dinner, well I think so.  If I bake the sweet potato in the oven, I brush them with olive oil before baking but when I do them in the microwave I don’t bother.  There are no real quantities as you can stuff in as much or as little of the cheese, dates and coriander as you like.

Baked sweet potato

Baked Sweet Potato with Philadelphia, Dates & Coriander

Ingredients

Sweet potatoes
Philadelphia cream cheese cut into chunks
Dates cut into pieces
Coriander chopped

Method

  1. Baked the sweet potatoes in the oven set at 180°C until soft alternatively cook them in the microwave.
  2. Slice the sweet potato lengthwise and place all the other ingredients in the opening.

Baked Sweet potato 2

44 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Potato with Philadelphia, Dates & Coriander

  1. This is the sort of simple meal I really enjoy. When I was growing up the favourite part of my meal was always the baked potato. I do love how you have added cream cheese – wonderful xx

  2. I never thought of doing them this way but it looks like a great combination – love it & going to try it. I’m looking at the inside of your sweet potato though & it looks white. All of the sweet potatoes & yams I get here are orange on the inside. I wonder if you have a different variety than we have available over in the States.

  3. Mandy, this is freakin delightful, what a swell combo of flavours. I love it and can’t wait to try this bad boy.🙂 Question… are your sweet potatoes red/aubergine in colour? Or is this just a fancy sweet pot? Hope you are well my lovely friend, and that you kids had a lovely Valentines weekend. Hugs from across the pond. Cheers, Anna xoxo

    • Um, our sweet potatoes are “purpely” in skin colour and mostly white flesh on the inside. How’s that for a technical answer. Haa haa.
      My Pete is whisking me off to Mozambique for a wee break. Can’t wait! I am busy packing. Adventure here we come!
      Love to you hon. Counting them sleeps in chunks now. Woohoo!🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

