In My Kitchen – April 2015

Eek, I have not posted since my last IMK post.  Clearly the weather has been too good to pass up on.  Oh I wish!  I have been knee deep in Neighbourhood Watch everything.  It has become somewhat of a full time job.  Must say though, we are still enjoying summerish days.  Long may it last.🙂

I, along with so many others are so grateful to our friend Celia over at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for her wonderful idea of sharing what’s in our kitchens every month.  It makes the world a little smaller and brings us all a little closer together.  Thank you Celia for the fun of being able to pop in around the world to see what everyone has to share.

In my kitchen…

Is my first attempt at icing a cake using my favourite Ateco 852 nozzle.  I made the cake to share with friends and my aunt for tea. While all the girls were thoroughly impressed, I was left a little disappointed.  No matter as I can decorate plenty more cakes.

Rose iced cake

Jasmine tea

In my kitchen…

Is an early birthday gift from my sister in law Karin and brother Greg.  I often quote Karin and what she has shared with me from this wonderful book and recently asked for her help with a few recipes for folk who were coming to stay who are vegetarian which resulted in receiving my very own copy.  Thank you Karin!  I LOVE my book.  I can highly recommend getting a copy of your own The Cake the Buddha Ate if you need inspiration for vegetarian recipes. ISBN 978-1-77009-772-8

The Cake the Buddata Ate

In my kitchen…

Was a great new find at Woolies.  I have never been able to purchase panko crumbs unless from a Chinese Store and ridiculous premiums so was thrilled beyond bits and piece when I saw this pack the other day.

Woolworths panko crumbs

In my kitchen…

are more flower decorations for cupcakes.  I cannot help myself when it comes to buying anything for cupcakes.  Yellow seems to be my favourite colour.  I’m not much of a pink kind of person and don’t really think you would use blue flowers so yellow it is.

cupcakes decoration flowers

In my kitchen…

Was a brilliant find when I was visiting with my folks in Johannesburg.  Mom took me to a new baking store which opened just down the road from home and lo and behold there was exactly what every other store to date in South Africa has not been able to provide me with – various sizes of icing nails.  I have only been able to source a size 6 which does not work for me.  Now to get practising with make perfect roses.

Rose icing nail set

In my kitchen…

Just in case, you know, just in case 3 spares isn’t quite enough, I got another spare icing/frosting bag – the day might come when I want to frost using different coloured icings at once, so now I am fully prep’d.

Icing bag

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up and please note Celia needs all IMK posts submitted by the 10th of every month.

83 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – April 2015

  1. You are now very well equipped for cake decorating. I love the look of the tea party with the sandwiches and cake. And your cake is gorgeous and now I want to get one of those nozzles xx

    • Can’t wait to find time to get back into the kitchen for some baking Charlie. The tea party was such fun, wish I could do it more often. Please let me know if you would like me to send you one of the nozzles. Have a super day and happy Easter to you.🙂 xo

    • Thank you so much Angie! I am battling to leave comments on your blog again. The screen where I need to click I am not a robot doesn’t open fully so I can’t click on okay. Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

  2. The cake is gorgeous! Lots of cake going on in your kitchen. Nice icing bag, by the way. I’ve been looking for good piping bags that don’t discolour with repeated use – any suggestions? Oh, and happy Birthday!

    • Thank you for your kind words. I find the bags with the plastic lined inside last much longer and the bags not seem to discolour. I have had great success with the Ateco range. Hope that helps. Have a super day.🙂 xo

    • Wee Jasmine is such a treasure and the most incredibly well behaved and happy baby. Here’s hoping I can get into the kitchen soon to practice with the icing nails. Each time I think we have got everything under control so I can focus on getting back into the swing of things, then there is some other crisis or another with neighbourhood watch. I think its time I started delegating a little more. Have a beautiful weekend and wonderful Easter Celia. 🙂 xo

  3. Sweet, Mandy,
    I love your warm kitchen.
    Your cake/tea party must have been AMAZING.
    The frosting looks exquisite.
    How are you?
    I loved my card, darling!! SOOOO fun and exciting to get mail from you.
    MUCH LOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE. xxxxxx

    • I wish you could have joined us for tea Kim, it would have been very special.
      I just can’t seem to get ahead with everything to get back into “normal” mode – so frustrating at the moment. Silly little compliant, sorry. How are you my dear friend?
      Have a beautiful love filled and happy Easter.🙂 xoxoxo

  4. Your cake looks very pretty, Mandy and I love the card you got too – just adorable. How funny and exasperating to find those icing nails just down the road from your mum’s!! The book looks rather fabulous – I must take a closer look at it. Always good to be prepared even if it’s for multiple icing colours! Thanks for the look in your kitchen!!

  5. Well it’s all about the cake this month isn’t it? I love those little flowers – I want to lean over and pluck one off the screen to crunch and melt in my mouth. I think your rosettes look pretty good. I’ve only attempted them once and let me tell you, yours are streets ahead. A truly delicious tour.

    • Fiona, you are very kind, thank you so much! I will get cracking at practising with the icing nails soon. I bet your rosettes were lovely. Have a wonderful day and happy Easter.🙂 xo

  6. So many gorgeous things in your kitchen but that cake really steals the show – it’s amazing! Wish I could come over for some lssons, I’ve never been vrave enough to ice a cake like that!

  7. Nice find Mandy. Doesn’t it make such a difference using panko? Thank goodness I don’t own a deep fryer, or else I’d probably panko up everything, and drop it in!! Cheers, Kirsty xx

    • Panco really does make a difference Kirsty. Deep frying is saved for a very special occasion – otherwise I too would probably pop everything into oil! Have an awesome day.🙂 xo

  8. I think the cake is amazing. The cake the Budda ate is my favourite gift for vegetarians. I use disposable piping bags as I think it’s easier than washing them. Also, I tend to freeze the leftover frosting etc. Have a super Easter!

  9. I know what you mean about time slipping by and not posting. I don’t know if it’s the dregs of the winter blues or just too much else going on but I haven’t been able to string enough words together to come up with a post for a while myself.

    It sure seems like you’ve got plenty of supplies to keep us all amazed at your cake & cupcake decorating skills. Why in the world weren’t you pleased with that cake? I think it looks gorgeous & would have been proud as a peacock to come up with something that nice! It knocked the little one right out.

    • Diane, we are’t even quite in winter yet and I am already half in hibernation.
      I felt I could have done neater and tighter roses with closer spacing. I am very hard on myself though. Not the best trait to have.
      Have a beautiful and happy week ahead Diane and here’s to the both of us getting a few posts out there.🙂 xo

  10. You are so clever Miss Mandy. I adore your pretty lemon yellow cake, and your niece is a total cutie. I seem to be surrounded by babies at the moment.🙂 Isn’t this year just zooming. I have been a bit slow getting my weekly blog posts up too. Ah well, no point being hard on ourselves, it’s a good indication we are off enjoying our lives.
    Hope you’ve had a wonderful Easter weekend with your family, over indulged in sweet treats and deconstructed grapes. Sending you giant hugs across the oceans. Xox

    • Aww, you are so sweet hon, thank you! Hee hee, reconstructed grapes – love it – had PLENTY of that! Hope you Easter has been a beautiful one sweet Anna. Giant hugs right back at ya.🙂 xoxo

  11. Lots of cake dec bits- your icing looks fab, can’t believe that you are not completely over the moon. I cannot do cake dec AT ALL and would have little patience with it.

  12. Cute nice and I bet she will love the memories when she is older. Your iced cake looks fabulous, love the yellow flower decorations for cupcakes.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

