On a Hiding to Nothing

Do you ever feel like you are on a hiding to nothing?  Feel like you are damned if you do and damned if you don’t?

I think we all go through times like this when no matter what you say or do, it will be misconstrued and quite often completely blown into something it is not. Some people also just hear what they want to and say one thing and do another.  These people are incredibly deceptive; they too are incredibly manipulative, masters at it!  I REALLY don’t like people like.

When though is enough, enough.  When do you say, to this point and no further!

What are the consequences of saying that?

Some people are going to continue to live in their vile worlds which for the most part is okay but not when they make it part of your life.  They want you to live in their drama with them, because that is what they enjoy and thrive on, drama, and they continue to spiral out of control all the while holding onto you trying to pull you down too.

I find it all very tiring and ageing and so unnecessary.  How can you just exclude these people from your life when it is not that easy to do.  Do you just ignore it and hope it will go away, when you know it won’t and the sad eventuality will come to pass when you will have to be in their company again which makes you sick to your stomach at the mere thought of it.

How many times must you hit your head against a wall before you explode, before you get sick, before it’s too late!

Why do some people not hear its enough now!  No more!  Will they ever stop  placing guilt on others and suctioning others into their miserable indignant sorry lives!

How do you find the switch to implement knowing the only way forward is its not worth dealing with people who have distorted perceptions, making sense out of nonsense.

I wish it was as easy as people say and to turn the switch to put these kind of people into perspective, accepting they are just inherently horrible people and to not let it worry you.  If I had that magic wand, I would use it to heal our whole world.

42 thoughts on “On a Hiding to Nothing

  1. I’m sorry to hear you have people in your world causing you so much grief. These sorts of people are toxic and best avoided but I know, easier said than done. Best wishes to you xx

  2. **If I had that magic wand, I would use it to heal our whole world**

    ME, tooooo!

    … if these individuals are not family, you can delete them from your life, darling.

    I’ve only met two HORRENDOUS and HORRIBLE people like this in my life… but I know there are so many more.

    I actually told them how I feel about them.

    And that’s that.

    Luv FLOWING to you, my dear, sweet Mandy.

  3. “You cannot heal the world. You can only heal yourself. This is where your true power lies”. cecilia buyswheeler gunther. “Don’t let the bastards get you down.” david wheeler (my father). Oh and one last one.( I read this lovely quote the other day. i don’t know who said it.. and I am paraphrasing). “So many people spend their whole lives working on finding the perfect person. When they should be working on Being that person” You are wonderful and gorgeous. Don’t let the bastards get you down!! love, love.. c

  4. Well, to those kind of people, you don’t have anything to lose if you say NO. Yesterday I had to say NO to a sweet old lady..I felt bad about it, but I knew it would get worse if I said YES…
    Have a peaceful and beautiful week ahead, Mandy!

  5. Valid rant, Mandy! We stay away from difficult people as much as possible. As the poem goes, “Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexations to the spirit!” Cheers🙂

    Julie & Alesah
    Gourmet Getaways xx

  6. My mother always says: “You have no control over what others say and do but you have control over what you say and do.” I am at the stage of my life where I just stay away from disagreeable people, family or not. Agree with Glenda, try to let go.

  7. You know Mandy, sometimes walking away to save your own sanity, is the best choice you can make. When you have toxic people in your life, you have to get them out of your space. You cannot have anything in your space that doesn’t add value to your life in some way, shape, or form. You can’t change them, but you can definitely change what you will and will not allow in. You are more important. I know many people think that’s selfish, but at some point you have to be to protect you. Keep looking forward Mandy. And don’t allow others, family or friends, to make you turn around.

  8. What you describe is difficult and heart-heavy to navigate at times. I vacillate between praying for them and wanting to tell them off, it’s makes me crazy the ire they can bring up, though I am getting better at not engaging in their “stuff”. Peace to you today, Mandy. xoxo

  9. Oh Mandy this made me so sad as I’m guessing that you are going through a tough time with someone (or several someones). I’m so, so sorry. As I get older and a little bit wiser I am learning to walk away from people like this and sometimes you just have to tell them why. Sending you a big hug x

  10. Thoughtful written post and I hope you are not struggling at the moment and if you are to just be the best person you can be and walk away. Do you remember the old saying our mom’s used to say, “If you can’t say anything nice then, don’t say anything at all.” I don’t think that all of the people in the world have truly learned that motto so it is up to us to just walk away… Hugs and healing coming your way…

  11. I’ve never heard that expression “on a hiding to nothing” but surely have heard damned if you do, damned if you don’t. At my age I’ve made a very conscious effort to weed out toxic people in my life. Some I was very close to until they showed their true selves. Toxic people do nothing to make you happy and are just more effort than they’re worth.

    I can tell you that there are times, like planning weddings😉 where you do have to deal with people who you would otherwise kick to the curb but you’ve got to suck it up & smile. Other than those rare occasions, you need to think of yourself first & I hope you do. Sending you big hugs from Massachusetts.

    • Absolutely true Diane, toxic people do nothing to make us happy. Oh no, I am sad to hear you have people you need to deal with that are anything but perfect for Niki’s wedding. I feel your pain, truly. The rare occasions are more than I can handle. Have a beautiful and happy week ahead.🙂 xoxo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

