Garden Update – May 2015

It has been quite a long while since I have shared a garden update so here are a few close ups of our wintery garden for you.

Garden May 2015 19

A little rusty but still works a treat

Garden May 2015 17

Young and tender Brazilian pepper corns

Garden May 2015 5

We have planted spekboom around the perimeter of our garden – can’t wait for it to fill out – need to do a post on this incredible plant

Garden May 2015 12

Pete’s protea keeps on growing and growing

Garden May 2015 8

Our very first and only olive

Garden May 2015 2

Poor pot has been waiting forever for something to be planted in it

Garden May 2015 1

The last of the fig leaves

Garden May 2015 3

Love how ferns are green all year around

Garden May 2015 4

Quite normal having coral in the garden

Garden May 2015 6

Water tank tap is nearly hidden

Garden May 2015 16 Garden May 2015 15 Garden May 2015 14 Garden May 2015 13 Garden May 2015 11 Garden May 2015 10 Garden May 2015 9 Garden May 2015 7

Garden May 2015 18

A lot of cat claws have been sharpened here

 

46 thoughts on “Garden Update – May 2015

  1. I love that you still have color in the winter. That’s my biggest complaint about our winters, the lack of color. Love that little olive. So cute! You have a beautiful garden Mandy.πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the garden tour, you have some very gorgeous and interesting plants, the bird of paradise is so beautiful. What you call spekboom looks like a jade plant. What are you going to plant in your lovely garden pot?

    • I will have to google a jade plant Norma. Spekboom is such a fascinating plant. I will do a post next week dedicated to it. I have not quite decided what is going in the pot, but I think I will plant a “mother in laws tongue” which gorws extremely well here, even indoors. Have a super week.πŸ™‚ xo

  3. Beautiful photos Mandy! I have been thinking about getting ferns for our apartment as I heard they help with cleaning the air and living here I need all the help I can get…

    • Thanks Bam! Oh, you should definitely get spekboom. I will do a post on it next week. Most incredible plant! Didn’t know that about ferns – our back garden is riddled with ferns so I must be getting extra doses of clean air. How wonderful! Have a great day.πŸ™‚ xo

  4. I want a brazilian peppercorn plant! And those succulent plants are looking very healthy!

    • Thanks so much Charlie. Dear olive has just got a mate – so we are now proudly watching 2 olives grow and turn purple. The little windmill gets a quick spray of WD40 every now and again when it starts squeaking. Have a lovely day.πŸ™‚ xo

    • Can’t believe after looking for weeks on end we have just spotted a second one. Don’t see much hope for these 2 wee olives other than rotting on the tree. They have both just started turning purple/black. Have a great day Glenda.πŸ™‚ xo

  5. Beautiful photos. I hope you have big plans for your olive. πŸ™‚
    We had only one blueberry one year. We gave it an honorable farewell.

    • Thanks Bill! I feel we are going to have to think of something special for our dear little olive, although we did spot a second one just yesterday so now that we have a pair, it is going to have to be an auspicious affair! Have a great day.πŸ™‚ xo

  6. We have had rain and hail for weeks now and all I want to do is get out to the garden! Ugh, just a few more days. Your garden is lovely with such variety and I love the rusty metal art. Gardens do as much to tend our soul as we do to tend them.πŸ™‚

    • Oh Judy, I do hope the hail hasn’t done damage to your garden. I would not survive long without being able to potter around in the garden, even if I just mow the lawn. Have a great day.πŸ™‚ xo

  7. You’re wintry garden doesn’t look anything like my wintry garden at all. Everything looks very lovely but I really love that rusted windmill. I’m on a big kick about things that have an aged & banged up look – they just seem to have more personality.
    Poor little olive. I’m glad you found 1 more so you & Pete don’t have to argue over it. One martini for each of you I guess.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

