Running Update

Somewhere between my Running Slow post and today my 5km became 4km and then 3km where I seemed to settle.  This was over a period of 10 months and then it happened, the unthinkable, the dreaded, unwanted, ever more difficult to shake off weight gain!  A whole 4 kilograms!  *Screams*  No rocket science involved that less calories burned with the same food and wine intake equals weight gain.  Urgh!

Trail runners

Before I realised there was all this extra weight running around with me, I started getting shin splints – seriously painful shin splints which needless to say did not help my times and it took me the better part of 2 months to figure out buying a pair of inner soles for my runners would solve the problem.  Oh, joy of joys, it was like running on air.  Bliss.  Soon 3km became 4km – yippee.  See, the 5km excuse at this stage is its winter and gets too dark for me to be out that long – that’s my legitimate reason.  You believe me right?

Inner soles

Speaking of winter running – what a pleasure,  I find summer running incredibly draining – the heat is just too much for me, even though I am a summer lover, just not for running.  Makes sense right?

 Anyhoo, seems I am back on track which is awesome.  Here’s to being back up to speed with my 5km daily runs before summer gets here, oh, and I seem to have lost 2 of those 4 sneaky kilos.🙂

How’s your exercise routine going?

40 thoughts on “Running Update

  1. I have the same running problems, I get going and something interferes and then it gets really hard to get back on track. The weather here doesn’t help, in the winter months we have -30 celcius regularly and snow and ice. In the summer it is +30 celcius with high humidity! And those extra pounds just creep up overnight.

    • Oh my Lori, not sure I could handle that much cold! We have expected rain for the next week so that is enough of a challenge for me and those extra pounds are horrid. Have a super day.🙂 xo

    • Thanks for stopping by. Each day you get closer to being able to reach your goal. I am ever evolving and need to remind myself how far I have come. Have a super day.🙂 xo

  2. I’ve been wondering how you’ve been going with your running. I got shin splints too and then they developed into stress fractures. I am all better now and am seeing a personal trainer and he is working on strengthening the muscles around my knees so I can start jogging again. I hope one day to be able to do 10km fun runs. Good luck with your weight loss goals – at least it’s just 4kgs and not 40kg! xx

    • The weight loss would be a lot easier if I just stopped stuffing things into my mouth! Hope you are able to get back on the road soon Charlie. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  3. I love my New Balance :-)) I am not a runner, well, just do some simple indoor running-in-place, and I already feel some pain on my ankle…I wonder if I should get a pair of inner soles…

    • Angie, it might also be the motion of you running on the spot which is causing your ankle to hurt – try if you can to move forward with the steps to see if that helps. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  4. The gym rat in me has taken a hiatus lately. I recently moved to another state and have not quite found that groove let alone a workout space. I know I need to get back into it and have done a lot of walking, hiking, swimming, and just got back on the bike this weekend. Here’s to a Healthier and Happier Lifestyle – Happy Day – Enjoy🙂

  5. Nicely done Mandy to work back up to the 5kms. My exercise routine has definitely not been good this summer. Between work and shuttling the kids I’m really struggling to find time. I’ve rearranged things a bit this week and am hoping to get back at it. I do find that I need exercise for all around health, so I have to make it a priority. Way to go to keep at it. You are an inspiration!

    • In our family we always joke and say, well, what are you doing between 03h00 and 04h00 – you could always fit whatever it is in there. Imagine! I find I get most irritable if I don’t go for my run and even on the days I really don’t feel like going and have to push myself out the door, I feel so much better for it afterwards. Have a happy day.🙂 xo

  6. Congrats on getting back on your running track and losing weight. I lost 10 pounds when I was down with bronchitis some time ago and managed to keep it off so far, hoping it stays off for good.

    • I would love a treadmill at home for those days when its pouring with rain like the past 3 days and when its too late for me to head out on my own. Have a beautiful day Tricia.🙂 xo

  7. Proper shoes with good support definitely make a big difference. Running for me will never happen but walking will be my choice of exercise once my bones heal.

    • Your sneaker is everything! I’m a runner too (5K fan club!) but I love to run in the early summer morning before the heat of the day – with a treadmill for rainy and snowy days! I’m not skinny since I love to eat but the running (and I also cycle and weight train) helps keeps the love handles to a healthy squeeze🙂

      • Hi Linda, me and food are also good friends, hence the weight again with the lack of training. I love cycling and set up my bike on an indoor frame for when it rains so at least I can still get in a little exercise although I should start with some weight training too. Have a super day and thanks for stopping by.🙂 xo

  8. GOOD on you lovely lady. Persistence is key!🙂 Not doing any real exercise at the moment, so uninspired with winter, but I have introduced a healthier eating habit this past month, so figure I will reintroduce my Bikram Yoga for August. Should be back to fit by the time Summer rolls around. Boom! Hope you had a wicked good weekend. Hugs and loves. xox

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

