In My Kitchen – August 2015

Yippee, one more month until Spring.  Can’t wait.♥

BTW:  Pete and I are in Kenya so I may only chat with you when I get back.🙂

In my kitchen…

Village life truly is wonderful, especially when friends give you beautiful spinach from their garden delivered right to your front door!  Thank you so much Wayne and Kelly – honestly was the best spinach I have enjoyed.

KellyWayne spinach

In my kitchen…

Are 2 new custard jugs which I, well, just couldn’t resist, besides, every home needs 2 custard jugs.

Custard jugs

In my kitchen…

Are 2 new sets of espresso cups and saucers, well, just because my other sets do’t match each other – I know, I have issues.🙂

Espressco cups

In my kitchen…

Are mini sauce containers – you know, my other obsession, nunu things.🙂

Mini sauce bowls

In my kitchen…

Is what I would love outside my kitchen.  Wish I could remember where I saw this pic but I love the idea of recycling wooden palettes for a wall garden.  Think I would have one with herbs and the other with seasonal flowers.

palette garden

In my kitchen…

Is a new pack of Daim chocolates which Pete brought home recently from one of his international trips.  Good thing they are so teeny as I feel less guilty after having a whole one.🙂

Daim chocs

What’s in your kitchen this month?

Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up and please note Celia needs all IMK posts submitted by the 10th of every month.

61 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – August 2015

  1. I love those wood palettes and what a great idea on how to recycle and reuse! I am in awe of anyone who can grow flowers, fruit and veggies! Spinach is my fave and love the mini sauce containers! Thank you for this month’s kitchen view too!

    • I do believe our soil has a lot to do with how well things grow in our garden Joanne, not sure I have much to do with it.😀 I must say, the spinach was definitely the best I have ever enjoyed. Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

    • I do believe our soil has a lot to do with how well things grow in our garden Joanne, not sure I have much to do with it.😀 I must say, the spinach was definitely the best I have ever enjoyed. Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

    • So far, Kenya is fabulous Tandy. Such a fascinating place – well Nairobi as that is all I am being exposed to – can only imagine the rest is equally as interesting. The hotel is incredible! I have never experience proper 5 star! Wow! Could get used to this. Have a wonderful week ahead.🙂 xo

  2. I love village life – when I can get it- too. Those gifts swapped over back fences and left on doorsteps🙂 The pallet gardens look interesting… another pic for my Pinterest collection!

    • Can’t beat village life. We often comment how blessed we are. Oh, I forgot about the pinterest thing. Still new to it. Thanks for the reminder! Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

  3. I hope you and the hubby are having a wonderful trip and I hope you are taking loads of photos.. LOL I had to laugh at myself at that one.. Great white food photography props. However, my favorite has to be your fun plant and herb holder, love that! Really unique!

  4. Have fun in Kenya! Love the palette garden, just another fun use of the millions of ways to use palettes. Love the new collection of white dishes, they all look great. I recently started switching us out to all white too.

  5. I’m with you on the not matching / match things🙂 And plain white is great to dress up with many wonderful things and foods. Win win! Enjoy Kenya Mandy x

  6. Yet more shared manias! Manii??😉 Dainty little things like miniature tablewares; matched sets of monochromatic things, pitchers (my older sister even collects small, distinctive pitchers), pretty and clever kitchen garden plantings. Not to mention beautiful spinach.😀😀

    And *definitely* not least, Daim! Got addicted on my first visit to Norway, and have remained a dedicated eater of Daim ever since. Lucky me.😉

    What fun!!!
    Much love, and a happy week to you, my sweet!
    Kath❤❤❤

  7. I hope you are having a wonderful time in Kenya Mandy🙂. And let me just say, I am so in love with those jugs, they are so beautiful. And those cups, I’d love to add that to my kitchen. Beautiful as always Mandy. You always inspire me to add new touches to my kitchen.

  8. I love the look of the chocolates. And a few years ago I threw out all my miss-matched mugs and cups and bought a new matching set – I felt a lot better when looking into the cupboard. How lovely to be given home grown spinach xx

  9. I am sure you are having a wonderful time in Kenya. Would love to look at those gorgeous wooden palettes outside my kitchen too. Love the cute sauce dishes🙂

  10. Aren’t those pallet gardens just darling!! I’ve got some here for my husband to hopefully turn into some outdoor furniture with a difference!! Those custard jugs are just sweet, I’m a sucker for a jug too!!! Cheers, Jan x

    • What a great idea to use palettes for outside furniture. I have seen some beautiful designs and here’s to your hubby getting stuck in soon on getting yours made.😀 Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

  11. Mandy, your espresso cup sets and sauce dishes are sleek and beautiful. (Your custard pitchers, “two!”)🙂 Wishing you a wonderful time in Kenya. How nice to be welcomed with a “bouquet” of fresh spinach! Thanks for sharing the pallet garden idea, too — love it!

  12. I love white dishes and those sweet custard jugs too. Can’t believe you’re going into spring as we are about to slide into autumn. Luckily, I love all the seasons (though I have to admit, last winter was a doozie!)

  13. I had one custard jug and someone (not mentioning names) broke it. I’m on the hunt for a new one but maybe I should get 2. I’m always on the tail end of the serving line.

    I’m the same way with matching dishes. I know it’s trendy to mix and match but it’s never been “me”.

    • Oh no Maureen – you have to replace your custard jug with 2.😀 No negotiation on that.

      I love things that match – always have. I am not one for fashionable items which are in today and out tomorrow. Might explain why I still use things from eons ago. Have a super day.🙂 xo

  14. Looking forward to hearing about the amazing food you’re trying in Kenya, Mandy – I’m fascinated with African cuisine! Love all your ‘mini’ dishes – they come in handy don’t they? And there’s nothing like fresh spinach straight from the veggie garden – very lucky. See you next month for #IMK

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

