In My Kitchen – September 2015

Yippee, Spring has sprung – here’s to it getting warmer and warmer.

As always a big thank you to our friend Celia for bringing us all together each month with these fun IMK posts.๐Ÿ™‚

In my kitchen…

As promised is an updated on the ย “Kitty bubbly”.
It was very fruity and I would say bordering on semi sweet butย was pleasant enough to toast with and share with friends. ย If you are like me and prefer a brut sparkle, this is not for you.

2015-08-01 10.15.40

In my kitchen…

Is Jollof rice spice Pete brought back from Nigeria. ย Haven’t used it yet but Jollof rice is a common meal in Nigeria which Pete enjoyed while there so I shall have to find an authentic recipe to try.

Jollof Rice Spice

In my kitchen…

Is a nunu giraffe spoon Pete got for me at the Giraffe Sanctuary when we were in Kenya. ย I still think about how sweet and gentle the giraffe are.

Giraffe spoon

In my kitchen…

Is wine which never made it to my kitchen. ย I drank it while in the comfort of our hotel room in Kenya. ย Imperial vin is produced and bottled in Moldova which is a country in Eastern Europe, landlocked between Romania to the west and Ukraine to the north, east and south. ย Was it worth its price tag of R120, no but it was enjoyable enough as a once off.

Imperial Vin Cabernet

In my kitchen…

Is something else which obviously never made it home but I wanted to share with you. ย Each afternoon at around 17h15, the door bell would ring in our room at the Kempinski and we would be handed a single serving of something sweet and delicious. ย My favourite was this pistachio nougat with crushed fresh rose petals. ย Heaven on a plate.

Kempinski sweet treat

What’s in your kitchen this month?

Please remember to link back to Celia’s blogย Fig Jam and Lime Cordialย if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up and please noteย Celia needs all IMK posts submitted by the 10th of every month.

64 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – September 2015

  1. Hey Mandy, have you been posting? I haven’t been getting notifications of new posts from you as I usually do (I’m going to hit follow again – must have gotten dropped somehow). Anyway, it’s good to be back in your kitchen.

    I would love to share some of that Kitty bubbly. And that’s a very cute giraffe spoon…I did see some of your FB posts of your travels and lived the giraffes.

    Oh, that pistachio nougat! I wish someone would ring my doorbell and deliver that to me.

    • Hi Diane, I have generally being doing a post once a week. Seems WordPress do these strange things every now and again. Most frustrating. Hope you are back to getting updates.
      The giraffe were amazing! I would go back in a heartbeat to visit them and as for the hotel, well I could live there permanently!
      Have a beautiful day and I hope things are more relaxed now that the wedding is over. Niki look exquisite as did you!๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo

      • I’ve noticed the same thing with WP whenever they have updates. For some reason people get randomly dropped and you don’t even realize it until you think “I wonder whatever happened to…”
        Your comment is so sweet (I really wish I could get the makeup artist to come live with me). The wedding was all that Niki dreamed of & more. Everyone really had a spectacular time which was exactly what we wanted.

  2. I want that slice of pistachio nougat with rose petals..wouldn’t it be great with a glass of โ€œKitty bubblyโ€?

  3. Ah but the cat champagne bottle is gorgeous, even if the bubbles were a little sweet! I just had a ring at the doorbell but it was someone asking what day the rubbish is collected, alas…no lovely nougat๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Mandy, nougat is on my make list this month for a friend to say thank you for the many wonderful days she has allowed us to have by looking after Poppy & Amber. I might just have to try a variation with rose petals too๐Ÿ™‚ Lovely post x

  5. Love the giraffe spoon. My mom received a similar set years ago, spoon and fork for salad serving. The nougat looks divine. I stayed at a Kempinski hotel several times years ago in Germany and while it was nice we never got treats in the afternoon.

    • Gretchen, there were loads of salad servers with all different animals – they are so beautifully made. What a pity you never got the afternoon treats, they are lovely. Have a super day.๐Ÿ™‚ xo

  6. I’ve never heard of that rice spice. I do love the giraffe spoon – so beautifully carved. I do prefer a brut sparkling wine but I think this would be perfect for any cat lover xx

  7. Oh to have my door bell ring with an offering of dessert instead of roofing contractors sniffing around after hail damage in our neighborhood! I do love your giraffe spoon … at our local zoo we can buy special crackers and feed the giraffe. Their long tongues can be intimidating to small children, but it is such a treat!

  8. I like the idea of your doorbell ringing and a single serving of the “treat of the day” being presented. What a fabulous place to stay! I also appreciated your wine notes (FYI, the dryer the better for me) and I LOVE that gentle giraffe spoon…

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

