In My Kitchen – November 2015

I can’t believe we are nearing the end of another year and there is only one more installment after this before we wave good bye to 2015. ย As always a big thank you to our friend Celia for bringing us all together each month with these fun IMK posts.๐Ÿ™‚

In my kitchen…

Are Strawberry Popcorn seeds which Pete found while we were out shopping the other day. ย Can’t wait to plant them.

Popcorn

In my kitchen…

Are beautiful mini wooden spoons Pete brought back from Malawai for me.๐Ÿ™‚

Malawi spoons

In my kitchen…

Technically not in my kitchen but I wanted to share with you, is a teeny tiny book Pete got for me. ย It is just bigger and fatter than a matchbox and is filled with the most wonderful quotes.
Your cat book

In my kitchen…

Are our new favourite in-between snack. ย They are wonderfully light and crispy and go well with everything from a cup of tea to a glass of wine.

Woolies Rice Crackers

In my kitchen…

Is my new favourite all rounder cleaner. ย I know it says for carpets and fabric but I am using it for just about everything – especially the spots where a free livingย cat is marking in our home. ย Wish I could catch him to have him neutered and homed.

Woolies cleaner

In my kitchen…

Are some lovely shells we found on a deserted stretch of beach on a recent walk.

Beach shells

What’s in your kitchen this month?

Please remember to link back to Celia’s blogย Fig Jam and Lime Cordialย if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up and please noteย Celia needs all IMK posts submitted by the 10th of every month.

58 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – November 2015

  1. The book looks like it’s really cute. I do love the wooden spoons. I’ve never heard of those strawberry seeds before – I hope you show us how they grow. I do love to snack on crackers when sipping a glass of wine xx

  2. Am intrigued about the strawberry popcorn too, look forward to seeing what grows! Those spoons are beautiful and I love rice crackers (my friends think I’m mad as no one else seems to enjoy them) but especially with a cheeky glass of wine๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I do need some carpet cleaner, so I will see if I have that brand here in the US. But I am especially in love with those spoons Mandy. They are just gorgeous. Thanks for an insight into your kitchen again.

  4. I’ve never tried growing popcorn myself, but all the more reason to try it if it’s a charmingly unique variety like this: even if it didn’t turn out to be delicious, it’d be a treat for the eye! Perhaps if it *does* produce pop-able kernels, you will want to savor their special character by eating it one fluff at a time, with tiny wooden spoons. Just a thought!!๐Ÿ˜‰

    I have a similar all-purpose cleaner here that I turn to more often than many others. When you find one that works and is a good ‘fit’ it’s hard to see any reason to switch or to use different ones for every purpose, isn’t it!

    As for the rest, the rice crackers sound delicious (as does almost anything with sour cream, to me), the book highly informative and probably greatly entertaining in equal amounts, and those shells are exquisitely dainty little things. I’m afraid all of the shells I’ve found around here are from the not-so-pretty common garden snails that love to eat up every sprouting thing in my flowerbeds before it can get very tall…what they don’t massacre, the grasshoppers snip to bits. Good thing I find tiny creatures interesting to look at, or I’d be after them the way they’re after my greenery. Now that we’re moving to an apartment, of course, the battle will be left to the people who buy our house. And, of course, to the birds that I have invited in with various planting schemes. Wink-wink.

    Happy times in your kitchen!
    Much love and a joyful November to you and Pete!
    Kathrynโค

    • My darling Kath, I have missed catching up with you on your blog. Seems the closer we get to the end of the year, the less time I have. Imagine if I had a real job too!
      I cannot wait for the popcorn to grow. It is now in the ground and we wait patiently – well we try to be patient.๐Ÿ˜€
      I really hope that this cleaner doesn’t go off the market – so often after I have settled into using something they change it or remove it altogether. How rude.
      We too have snails who have a field day chomping away at all we have in the garden. I haven’t the heart to poison them so they have a lot of the garden for their needs.
      How do you feel about moving to an apartment? I would love to hear all about it.
      Have a beautiful, love filled and happy day.๐Ÿ™‚ xoxoxoxo

  5. It’s been forever since I’ve been blog reading, it’s so nice to be here to catch up. I can’t believe there is only one more “In My Kitchen” this year!! Oh my gosh that went way too fast! I love the look of your popcorn seeds, how cool are they?! And you have a kitten now??

    • Hi Barb, I love your new blog style – gorgeous! We have 3 cats. One old girl and two we brought back home when we moved back from Mauritius. They are precious angels and I cannot imagine my life without any of them.
      I will do a post on the popcorn when it grows. Hopefully it will pop out of the soil soon.
      Have a beautiful day.๐Ÿ™‚ xo

    • Aww, thanks Lizzy! “The cobs of Strawberry Popcorn look like giant strawberries, which is where it gets its name from. The flavour is in no way related to the name. One of the world’s gourmet popcorns, strawberry popcorn is the ultimate in really scrumptious popcorn. It pops into a brilliant white, fluffy popcorn , with a crispy texture.” Have a beautiful day.๐Ÿ™‚ xo

  6. Oh how I missed rice crackers when I travelled in the US and Europe. No one had ever seen them before. They are hugely popular here. I went Googlng to find out what strawberry popcorn was as I had never heard of it (nor ever seen it). Corn – well there you go!

  7. Your seashells are lovely, I love collecting shells (or stones) at the beach. The rice crackers sound delicious, sour cream crackers would be delicious with a glass of wine. The cat is always the boss, aren’t they? My dogs are terrified of our cat Lucy. They never know if she is going to rub against them or give them a swat!

    • I too love collecting stones, I usually bring one home with each walk, one which is unusual. We don’t have dogs and can only assume that all three of ours would give the poor pup a hard time. Have a super day Liz.๐Ÿ™‚ xo

  8. All such lovely things this month Mandy. I’m sure the cat book has some great quotes in there! And your shells are just too cute. Also love those new wooden spoons!

  9. It seems like everyone is curious about those strawberry popcorn seeds. I’ve never heard of anything like that so yes, everyone’s going to want updates Mandy.

    Pete is such a sweetheart – he always brings you such nice fits and those spoons are lovely.

    I’ve got a couple ‘cat’ books, one is How to tell if Your Cat is Trying to Kill You.

  10. Happy November Mandy. I love those little spoons and was very intrigued by the strawberry popcorn too๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Mandy, I can only imagine the thrill of discovering such gorgeous shells on your walks along the beach. What a find! I also like your other “finds” — versatile rice crackers, strawberry popcorn (hadn’t heard of that before — read your description of it in the comment section, thanks) and those gorgeous wooden spoons. (I realize they were a gift, but they’ve “found” a new home in your kitchen!) xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

