Pear and Almond Cake with Almond Crunch Topping

The name alone caught my attention when I saw this recipe from the online Delicious Magazine, and then the use of sour cream and nutmeg.  When friends invited us over for dinner I offered to bring dessert so I could try this delicious cake.  I was quite skeptical once I read the length of baking time but it was absolutely perfect and so very moreish. I will definitely serve this regularly and is the perfect Christmas dinner dessert.

Pear Almond Cake 3

Pear and Almond Cake with Almond Crunch Topping

Ingredients

  • 175g softened butter
  • 150g Billington’s Golden Caster Sugar – I used regular caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract – I used essence
  • 2 medium eggs – I used extra large 
  • 220g self-raising flour
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 140ml soured cream
  • Finely grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 50g ground almonds
  • 2 firm pears, such as Comice
  • A little lemon juice

For the almond crunch topping

  • 50g butter
  • 50g Billington’s Light Muscovado Sugar – I used demerara sugar
  • 2 tbsp double cream – I used normal cream
  • 75g flaked or slivered almonds

Pear Almond Cake 4

 Method

  1. Line a 20cm springform tin with non-stick baking paper. Preheat the oven to 180°C/fan160°C/gas 4.
  2. Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla in a bowl until pale and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, 1 at a time, adding a spoonful of the flour with the second egg. Sift the remaining flour, a pinch of salt, bicarbonate of soda and the nutmeg together. Fold half the flour into the creamed mixture. Fold in the soured cream, zest and almonds, then the remaining flour.
  3. Peel, core and slice the pears. Toss with lemon juice to prevent discolouration. Spread half of the cake mixture over the base of the tin, cover with the pears, then the remaining cake mixture. Bake for 40 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, make the almond topping. Melt the butter in a pan and stir in the sugar and cream, then stir in the almonds.
  5. Remove the cake from the oven and pour the almond mixture evenly over the top. Bake for a further 20-25 minutes, or until the topping is toffee-coloured and a skewer comes out clean from the centre of the cake. Remove and serve warm or cold.

60 thoughts on “Pear and Almond Cake with Almond Crunch Topping

  1. Mmm, I am loving that almond crunch topping — so many ways you could use it, even on cookies. This cake would be a lovely addition to our brunch table too. If I don’t stop by again before so, Merry Christmas, Mandy!

  2. Happy Christmas week my beautiful amazing and gorgeous friend. Biiiiiiiiiiiiig squishy hug! xox
    This cake sounds and looks divine.🙂 Love the almond crunch topping, its really pretty. I’ve been using almonds in a lot of my baking/cooking these days, such a lovely substitute to flour. Will add this beauty to the bake on holidays list for sure. Hope your weekend was super. Heading over to catch up on the posts I’ve missed this past few weeks. Lotsa love. xo

    • Happy Christmas week to you too darlin. This is a winner and will definitely be made again and again. My Pete home so having a wonderful time plus loads of family too. Have a beautiful day sweet Anna.🙂 xoxoxo

  3. Now this, dear Mandy, is a cake fit for the holidays. It looks incredible! Then again, I love just about anything with almonds as a key ingredient. I know. I’m easy. 🙂

  4. Pears have always been one of my favorite fruits and your cake looks wonderful and I sure is delicious. Wishing you all the best in this new year.

  5. Oh WOW!
    This cake looks so super delicious. I’m drinking an earl grey tea right now and I know it would go so well.
    Yumming🙂
    Thanks for sharing
    Love to you and the family.
    Julie

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

