In My Kitchen – April 2016

We are still enjoying beautiful extended summery days, however the early mornings and late evenings are somewhat chilly, reminding us winter will soon be here.

Thanks to Maureen at The Orgasmic Chef for managing our monthly get together’s.

Everything in my kitchen this month are all gifts!  How awesome! ♥

In my kitchen…

Is a beautiful dinner service inherited from my Nanna – my mom’s mom.  It has been packed away for the better part of 40 years and with the folks move to the River and having an already fully packed kitchen, they thought I would enjoy using it.  ♥

Dinner service

In my kitchen…

Are 2 butter dishes from my folks wedding, lovingly given to me. ♥

butter dishes

In my kitchen…

Is my great gran’s gorgeous pink hued teapot, perfect for tea for 2. ♥

pink teapot

In my kitchen…

Are my great-gran’s baking pans which she used to use to bake banana bread and sponge cakes.

great grans baking tins

In my kitchen…

Is a gorgeous serving dish just waiting for cheese and biscuits.  Thanks Daddy and Mommy. ♥

serving dish

In my kitchen…

Are serving bowls from my folks – I see retro prawn cocktail served in them, or trifle…

glass serving bowlsglass serving bowls 2

In my kitchen…

And then just as a reminder how lovely village life is, are pomegranates from folk who live down the road.  Thanks Les and Sharon.  Pete is loving eating his childhood favourite fruit.

pomegranates

What’s in your kitchen this month?

Please remember to link back to Maureen’s blog if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up and remember Maureen needs all IMK posts submitted by the 10th of every month.

62 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – April 2016

  1. wow these are some really awesome gifts, Mandy. The dinner service set is really beautiful.

  2. So many lovely things (I especially love your Nanna’s dinner service) made all the more special because I am sure many will bring back happy memories of the people who owned them before!

  3. I just can not get over that dinner service set. It looks absolutely amazing Mandy. And I just love those dessert bowls as well. They are beautiful. Thanks for sharing this with us.. I always love what’s in your kitchen.

    • That they do Tricia. Very special of them to give me so many wonderful things. It’s been an age since we enjoyed a shrimp cocktail! Oh no, a freeze warning sounds very unfun! Stay warm 🙂 xo

  4. That blue dinner set is absolutely gorgeous, crazy how our tastes change as we get older huh? Younger me swore she would NEVER have pattern plates. Lol! Hope you have a magnif weekend lovely lady! Hugs across the pond.🙂

  5. How wonderful that you have such beautiful things from your parents and grandparents, I received some gorgeous silver serving dishes that belonged to my husband’s grandparents and I just adore using them.

    • I will have to leave everything to my nieces and nephews one day. The thought now makes me laugh as they are still so young and would probably hate the idea of something old. Have a super day Eva.🙂 xo

  6. What lovely family hue rooms you now have in your kitchen. The dinner service is gorgeous, I’m sure anything you serve on it will be wonderful and bring back happy family memories.

  7. what gorgeous things in your kitchen. i just love that blue and white dinner service. my fave colours together. and of course the teapot is lovely and the little dessert dishes. and last but not least the pomegranates. just marvellous.

  8. Oh what a wonderful collection of kitchenwares, I love that they all came from your family!

    I have a box of china that was my mother’s. I don’t use it as I am too scared to ruin it. Which in some ways is a blessing as when we had our house fire at the end of 2014, it was packed away in our shed and survived!

    Still too scared to use it! Silly I guess, and I love it. It is a bit retro and has orange poppies on it!

    • Family heirlooms are so precious! I am so sorry to hear about your house fire – I cannot begin to imagine what that must be like – I am so pleased though you still have your mom’s box of china.
      Have a beautiful weekend.🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

