Custard Cake Slices

This is a wonderful light dessert for after a heavy winters meal or lovely addition to the table at a shower or tea.

Custart Cake Slices

Custard Cake

Ingredients

4 eggs separated
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
125g butter melted
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups milk lukewarm
Powdered sugar for dusting

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C.
  2. Grease an 8 inch x 8 inch baking dish.
  3. Beat the egg whites until stiff and set aside.
  4. Beat the egg yolks & sugar until light.
  5. Add the butter and vanilla and beat for two minutes.
  6. Add the flour and incorporate.
  7. Slowly add the milk and beat in.
  8. Fold in the egg whites, a third at a time.
  9. Pour batter into baking dish and bake for ± 60 minutes or until the top is lightly golden.
  10. Once cooled, cut into slices (or rounds) and  dust with powdered sugar.

24 thoughts on “Custard Cake Slices

  1. Hi there

    I’ve followed your blog for a long time….. and love reading your emails… and you have beautiful photos.

    I recently launched a new website for South African Women… and wanted to ask if you would like to contribute any articles and/or recipes, please.

    All articles can include contact details and active links.

    Please have a look at the website and let me know what you think. http://www.womenofworth.co.za

    Thanks so much

    Mands

    Email: mands@womanofworth.co.za

    Please like our Women of Worth Facebook page

    Please enter our R1000.00 cash giveaway “A Thousand Blessings”

    Website http://www.womenofworth.co.za

    Inspired by South African Women… their strength, their courage, their beauty… their unique originality, their creativity and imagination… their humble enduring spirit!

    Celebrating South African Women… by sharing their stories, supporting their achievements, applauding their success, showcasing their talents… embracing their differences, by remembering, and honouring their heritage!

    Please read the Woman of Worth poem

    • Hi Mands. Thanks very much for following along on my blog. As you will see, I have not been posting very much for a while. Life has thrown a few challenges which require more of my attention. I will keep you in mind and will revert once things have calmed down. Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

  2. Gorgeous.
    Delicious.
    These look marvelous, Mandy.
    Thank you so much for your very personal letter. I am honored and delighted.
    Will write soon. I have several things to say! xxxxx

    • You would love them Kim! I am so pleased my letter arrived – don’t think my card from Kenya did though and here Pete and I were saying how much better their postal service has to be to ours. I can’t wait to hear back from you! Have a beautiful love filled day.🙂 xoxo

  3. These little beauties sound wonderful and oh so yummy! Last night I had 11 of my food blogger buddies over for dinner and we ate so much deliciousness, we are thinking of making next months theme ‘recipes from our favourite bloggers’, I bet these would go down a treat. Hope you are well my beautiful friend. Sending you giant hugs and love. xo

    • How awesome to have 11 blogger buddies over hon. It must have been an absolute feast! How cool to have a theme. Hope you blog about it. Would love to see what you guys make. Have a beautiful day sweet Anna. Love and hugs back to you.🙂 xoxoxo

  4. I made these tasty beauties & loved every bite! They were just stunning & superb in the mouth! It was fun making them in my kitchen too!🙂 xxxx

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

