Such is Life

Sundays4

Our beautiful Sundays River

We chose to live where we do for the tranquil quality we appreciate and treasure –  to be on the doorstep of a National Park, River and Beach which for a large part are unscathed by man.  City life is just not our speed.

Addo 2014 507

King of the jungle in Addo National Elephant Park

We respect our environment and care for it as much as we can and help annually with a river and beach clean up which incorporates educating the local youth about the importance of reducing, re-using and recycling as well as being part of a team of committed folk who donate food, clothing and the like plus our time once a month to distribute these goods to the youngsters who bring plastic containers and tins to school for recycling further helping to keep our environment clean and encouraging them to be proud of where they live.

TrashBashLogo

There is also my involvement as Chair for our Community Police Forum and Neighbourhood Watch initiatives which boils down to a semi full time job sans remuneration but makes me no less committed.  My resolve is occasionally tested though, as a curve ball gets thrown our way and we have to endure unnecessary stress of people violating our rights by holding illegal protests and burning vehicles which throes me into endless texting and phone calls to determine who, what, when, how and why all the while trying to reassure a village we are safe.

Kinkelbos CPF Logo               NHW logo

It is a harsh reminder of how volatile life can be.  We enjoy the comfort of our daily lives and then in a heartbeat it changes.  I don’t believe we are unique by any means, we just feel it more being such a small community.

Then everything settles and returns to normal and just as I breathe a sigh of relief, the next hurdle gets put in front me to test my resolve  with the news of scary things, things I don’t know how to comprehend or how to deal with so I throw myself at the internet trying desperately to find answers.

Proteas - Copy

South Africa’s National flower – the protea

Dad was diagnosed with kidney cancer and was quickly in surgery to remove his left kidney.  Test results were positive, all the cancer was removed with the kidney, then quickly comes the news of lung cancer.  I have truly never experienced anything as traumatic and scary in my 43 years.  I have never felt such pain.  Deep! Right to my core.  Daddy is both mentally and physically strong and at 73 has never been sick or seen the inside of a hospital  for anything other than visiting someone else.  I can’t begin to comprehend what he and Mommy have felt through all of this.  They are remarkable and nothing will get them down, nothing!  Dad’s positive attitude has been inspiring to see.  We are in the midst of Dad’s treatment and believe he is already cancer free.  Believe it with us, and if you can, please light a candle for Daddy, he is a special man who deserves all the love in the world.

SA vs Ireland 25062016 - Copy

Love, love, love. Mom, Me, Pete and Dad at a recent ruby match. SA VS Ireland – Ireland played a better game but we won in the end

During the same time as finding out about Dad’s cancer, my cousin was involved in a motorcycle accident, which resulted in his left leg being amputated.  What a remarkable young man – his attitude, like Dad’s  is awe inspiring and his being able to get back up and at em is wonderful to see.

My family has been tested the past while, not about how much we love each other and how we all stand strong together but how much we can actually deal with all the while still smiling. ♥

42 thoughts on “Such is Life

  1. Such lovely words Mandy. I’ve a few tears in my eyes as I read it, but your strength & positivity shine through. Sending all my love from the auK to you all. Xxxxxxxx

    • Appreciate your love and concern Kay. I should have included Joshua’s run for Uncle Clive. Have a beautiful day – its bitterly cold, dark and rainy here today.🙂 xoxo

  2. Oh Mandy, you have so much caring and love of your community and everything around you which I’m sure came from the love from your family and your love for them. You certainly are being tested right now but know that you have the strength to get through this and to help those you love.

    I’ve dealt with so many health issues now for decades – because of those problems my doctor decided to just do a CT scan and discovered lung nodules that they decided to keep an eye on. After years of followup scans, just when I thought I was in the clear, they changed to lung cancer.

    Sometimes when you get a diagnosis like that you don’t really process it and maybe that helps get through all of the steps necessary to get through the process and treatment. It’s a scary and daunting process. In my case I was very lucky that a random scan caught it at a very early stage and although I had a lung removed, it saved my life. I am cancer free now for 9 1/2 years.

    I can assure you that your father’s strength but especially your love and support will help him through this difficult time. I am sending you as many positive thoughts and love as I can and know that you have what it takes to get through this.

    Be well my friend and keep those positive thoughts flowing,
    Diane

    • Diane, thank you so much for sharing your story with me – what a remarkable recovery you made, all the while with one lung! You are incredible! Wow! What an inspiration you are. Thank you for your love and care. 🙂 xoxoxo

  3. My sweet Mandy, with all my heart I send health and hope and love to you and Pete and your dear mother and most of all, to your beloved dad. I hope that your cousin will find a way to be as happy, productive, loved, and adventuresome as our young relative who had a similar shocking amputation-accident. And I hope that your father’s treatment is merely a tiny blip on the horizon of your family’s future, soon fully accomplished and very soon thereafter virtually forgotten. Health, love and joy to *all* of you!
    Kath

  4. Thinking of you Mandy. I hope for a speedy and full recovery for your dad and that the path becomes less trying for you all. Much love and hugs! Xoxo

  5. Recently my father-in-law (he is 84 this year and my mother in law is wheelchair bound) just had two huge operations and I know how this must have affected your family…I send all the positive energy to you and your family, Mandy.

    • Sorry to hear about your father-in-law Angie, I trust he has a speedy recovery. Can’t be easy with your Mother-in-law being in a wheelchair. It is hard seeing those we love, especially when they are older suffering or in pain. Love and positive energy back to you and your family.🙂 xoxoxo

  6. Much love to you and your family. You are in my thoughts and I hope your Dad is doing well and cancer free. It is terrible about your cousin’s accident. He survived and if he is positive and mentally strong he will be just fine. I hope you are through these difficult times soon. What a beautiful rainbow and I have never seen that flower before, so pretty.
    Hugs,
    Lori

  7. Sorry, Mandy, to hear of the unfortunate circumstances facing your Father and family. You and your family are in my thoughts, where they will remain. Big hugs to you.

  8. Lighting a candle for your Daddy. Prayers for speedy recovery. You are a remarkable family with strength and positive attitude, best wishes to all. The protea is such an exotic flower, thanks for sharing.

  9. Oh Mandy, what a lot you are having to deal with right now. My thoughts love and prayers go out to you. Stay strong but allow yourself to cry too when you need to. Have been through something similar over the last two years with my own dad and Big Man…it’s difficult but hopefully for you, as for us, there is light at the end of that long old tunnel xxxxx

  10. Dear Mandy, So very sorry that you and your family have so much to deal with…you will all be in my thoughts. A positive attitude is so important when someone is dealing with health problems so I’m sure that will help your father during this trying time and he will get through this challenge.

  11. Stay strong Mandy. Unfortunately I understand very well what it’s like to carry that pain. But your dad is doing great and attitude is everything. Very sorry about your cousin as well. Prayers for your whole family! LOVE the photo! You are so very pretty🙂

  12. Sending all the love and light I can possibly muster for your daddy, what a b!tch cancer is, although by the sounds of it, your dad is one hell of a man with just the right attitude to kick cancer in the pants. Thank you for the reminder to find the great in what seems a rather challenging existence. You are a beautiful soul. Lots of love and hugs headed your way. xox

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

