Apple Cream Cheese Rose Tarts

I saw a link to these gorgeous looking morsels and just had to make them the same day.  They are worth making with a couple of tweaks.  I will definitely be making these again soon.

apple-rose-puffs

Apple Cream Cheese Rose Tarts

Ingredients

1 apple – I used 2
1 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp water
1-2 sheets puff pastry – one sheet made 6 tarts (see point 5 of method)
1/4 cup cream cheese – I used full fat softened with a ¼ tsp vanilla essence
3 tbsp sugar – I combined sugar and cinnamon and recommend using more
cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Prepare muffins tins with non stick spray.
  3. Halve the apples, scoop out the core and slice thinly.
  4. Combine the apple slices with lemon juice and water in a bowl and microwave for 3 minutes.
  5. Roll out the puff pastry and cut into 6 even strips.  Moving forward I would roll the pastry thinner to make at least 9 slices, possibly even 12.
  6. Spread the cream cheese on each slice of pasty.  Double the quantity for 12 tarts.
  7. Liberally sprinkle the cinnamon sugar over the cream cheese.
  8. Arrange the apple slices overlapping each other on one half of the pastry with the top of the apple just above the pastry.
  9. Fold the bottom half of the pastry up over the top and roll up.
  10. Place in prepared muffin tins.
  11. Bake for 40 minutes.  Reduce time accordingly if you roll the pastry thinner.

I served these with homemade custard.  They made a fabulous dessert.

45 thoughts on “Apple Cream Cheese Rose Tarts

  1. I have got to make these! I’m guessing they’re delicious but I need to make them because they’re so beautiful!
    It’s apple season here so the timing is perfect.
    I hope you’re well and love seeing you post…Diane

    • Aren’t they just gorgeous Diane! It’s always apple season for me. I have an apple every day.😀 All well albeit Pete away a lot which isn’t great and Dad doing really well. Hope all well with you? Much love from SA.🙂 xo

  2. I’ve seen these before and always thought I’d love to give them a try. Now that you prepare them, I’ll just wait until your visit and you can make them for us. Thanks, Mandy! 🙂
    Hope you and the “kids” are enjoying a wonderful week.

    • Wouldn’t that be a treat hey John! One day… We are all well and beyond excited that Pete will be home tomorrow night for nearly 2 weeks! Can’t wait! Have an awesome day and cuddles to darling Max.🙂 xo

  3. Just stumbled on your blog from another blog. I am a sucker to anything puff pastry and your apple cream cheese tart looks absolutely wonderful and you make it sound really easy. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Mouth still watering…. still trawling through every post – I’m so missing my fave coffee shops & having my own kitchen so I’m having a virtual pig out – don’t this apple cream cheese tarts look & sound amazing.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

