Milk Tart (Melktert)

Good old fashioned comforting childhood memories wouldn’t be complete without milk tart.  Fabulous – well, until I had to make 3 different variations to find what I was happy with.  Childhood memories aren’t always that easy to recreate.  Not that the first two attempts weren’t nice, they just weren’t what I wanted.  They lacked the silky smooth texture I craved.  Also, most recipes make two tarts and I only wanted to make one plus I found baking the tart higher than 180°C caused it to crack.  Round three was perfect.

milk-tart

Milk Tart (Melktert)

Ingredients

For the Pastry

2 Tbs butter
2 Tbs sugar
1 egg
¾ cup self raising flour
¼ tsp salt

For the Tart

2 cups milk
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup flour
¼ tsp salt
2 Tbs butter
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs well beaten
Ground cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Blitz all the pastry ingredients together in a food processor until they resemble crumbs and spread evenly and press in a 24cm pie dish.
    (The crust can be refrigerated while preparing the tart but I don’t bother)
  3. Heat the milk to just before boiling.
  4. While the milk is heating, combine the sugar, flour and salt together.
  5. Gradually add the heated milk to the dry ingredients and return to the heat.
  6. Cook slowly while stirring until the mixture thickens.
  7. Remove from the heat and add the butter and vanilla.
  8. Cool the mixture slightly and stir through the beaten egg and pour into the pastry crust.
  9. Sprinkle with cinnamon and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.  The center will still be slightly soft and wobbly.
  10. Cool and try only eat one slice.🙂

58 thoughts on “Milk Tart (Melktert)

  1. This beauty sounds remarkably like a classic southern US dessert, buttermilk pie. I’ve never made it myself, but it’s not terribly hard to find a pretty good version in diners and restaurants near here (especially at our favorite old-fashioned true-Texan place, Ranchman’s Cafe). Seeing your recipe, though, I’m tempted to try making my own from this recipe and get the best version I can! Especially since Richard and I are planning this Saturday to spend a fun drive outing to visit one or two of the local dairies we’ve read about and get some real grass-fed, raw milk. That ought to be perfect for such a recipe, no?😀 In any event, I can almost taste yours from here. Lovely! Something tells me I’ll utterly fail your challenge to eat only one slice, though, so maybe I should just apologize in advance for that.😉

    Loving hugs, and may your weekend be beautiful!
    Kath

    • Kath, you absolutely have to make your buttermilk version using this recipe, it will be fantastic and while you at it, you might just as well make one of these too – just for good measure and all. Have a beautiful weekend and loving hugs right back to you.🙂 xoxoxo

  2. Thank you for sharing! reminds me of my grandmother too! Appreciate that online ‘cooks’ like you, share recipes after all the hard work done! I am using your “The Complete Cook Book Kitchen Guide” that you compiled some years ago. Extremely informative and helpful. If by any chance, you make changes, etc., please let me know! Thank you.

  3. This tart looks absolutely perfect but I bet the other two were great too. I love food memories and it’s funny that the older I get, the more memories involve food and family. Have a great weekend.

    • Cheri, I hope you get a chance to make one, you won’t be sorry. Have a lovely day and sorry again that I am unable to leave comments on your blog – really have tried everything. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  4. A pastry chef made me one of these the other day. A traditional custard tart still edges it for me – but it was delicious (and yours looks outstanding)

  5. This looks sooo good, Mandy, well worth the first two attempts. You’ll have to bring the recipe with you when you visit. You can teach me how it’s done. 🙂
    Have a great week and do give your furbabies a scratch behind the ears.

    • I love the way you think John! Tell you what I will be in London for a week with Pete – woohoo! Wanna meet us there and I can make it for you there? Have a beautiful weekend and lovies to Max.🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

