Miss Podgy gets jogging

Horror of horrors its been the better part of a year since I ran.

runjpg

Enough is enough!

No more toxic thyroid holding me back – now just unfit and slightly softer around the edges from not running nearly 12 months.

How bad could it be to get back on the road?

Off I went for my first jog – just 3km to see how I felt.  HAVE MERCY!  What had I done
to myself.  That evening, I couldn’t walk. I could barely breathe.  Is it possible to be this unfit even with walking 5km most days and cycling in between.  Clearly, YES!

R&R for a couple of days, a serious chat with myself and I was back out there.  Still only 3km but walking 200m then jogging 300m for the 3km course.  Much better.  I am in week two now and already I am feeling better for it.  Still unfit and podgy but mentally in a much happier space.

Hopefully by the holidays I will be bouncing around like an energiser bunny again , less podgy and looking forward to being on track with my 5km daily run.

Have you too fallen off the proverbial wagon?

38 thoughts on “Miss Podgy gets jogging

  1. Whatever else you do, pace yourself. Your body has been through enough rough stuff in the last months! I’m in need of imitating you, though it’ll never be with running as long as we live in Texas; still, time to get back in shape a bit. We’re doing well with adjusting to a better and more sustainable diet, both of us, but I need to replace the podge with actual muscle if I’m to make it really worthwhile, I’m sure!😉
    Much love, and have a splendid week!
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

  2. I don’t imagine for a moment you’re anywhere near podgy! It’s easy to lose fitness but equally it doesn’t take long to build it up again. Am not a runner but a few days after my little op I walked around the block from my house. It would normally take me about 5 minutes. The first day I think it took me about 20 minutes and half way round I was tempted to call Big Man to come and help me! Today it’s 3 weeks since the op and I am able to walk around town and take the dogs out and feel almost back to “full speed”! It won’t take you long 😀

    • I carry everything between navel and knee so you see it more than if it spread itself everywhere – you know what I mean right?😉 I hope within these last 2 weeks before I start jet setting I will be back up and at em with a routine Tanya. How wonderful that you are healing so quickly. Fantastic! Counting sleeps until 8 November.😀 Have a beautiful week and see you soon. xoxoxo

  3. So happy for you! It’s a GREAT start considering that you have been off the track that long..
    I am still not a runner…have tried jog-in-place and didn’t enjoy every single minute I spent there…my favourites are still HIIT and Strength Training and yoga and pilates in between.

    • Thanks Angie! Not much of a runner myself Angie but it am an instant gratification person so see results faster with running 3 to 5 km a day vs doing yoga although I love yoga! Have a fantastic week.🙂 xo

  4. Great job Mandy, I haven’t ran in a long time too and it is really hard to get started. Getting out there is half the battle! Take it slow and rest you’ll be zooming around in no time.

  5. It is so easy to fall off the wagon and shocking to see how quickly it happens. I ran (mostly power walked) my very first 5K about 10 days ago. I was shocked at how much harder it was on my body than running on the treadmill. I hiked last weekend in the mountains and was sore again. Heading upstairs in a few minutes to get back on the rat wheel (treadmill) and see if I can get back at the 4 day a week training. It never ends! Good luck

    • Well don Tricia, that’s great. Amazing how different treadmill running is. I am pushing for 5 to 6 days until I reach my goal. Here’s to us sticking to our plans. Have a wonderful day and happy rat wheel training.🙂 xo

  6. Yes I have – and walking the dog for an hour every day and a bit of gentle yoga once a week does not compensate for eating and sitting at my desk. Kick start is needed. Back to barre – terrified!

  7. Miss Podgy< Hardly. I'd struggle walking 300 meters and you're talking about jogging "just 3k". Well, jog now and get it out of your system. There'll be no time for jogging when you come here, Mandy. We've far too much cooking and eating to do.🙂

    • Right, extra jogging it will have to be before I visit then John. Can’t possibly interrupt cooking and eating with such silliness as jogging.😀 Oh I do wish for the day to visit. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xoxo

  8. HellOOooooo dear Mandy!!!!! I’ve been away for such a long time & have missed my beautiful blogging peeps!
    Yes, I’m on a lazy tropical island it’s true but I can SO relate to what your saying here. I set myself a goal when I arrived to get fit again & make exercising a daily task, I’d even fooled myself into believing the odd hill climb & gant around the lake with the pup as a ‘decent amount’ of exercising. HHAAAHHhhh!!! It’s the daily exercise that cause the hurt muscles, the breathlessness (I seriously didn’t expect), but here I am a month into this little disciplined me & I swear I felt an endorphin or two zinging around my body!!!!

    • Anna, I love the way you write, it is so addictively awesome! Did you take your pup with you then? Lovely to have you back hon. Have a beautiful day and share some more with us all about your incredible island life.🙂 xoxoxo

    • Aah yes, the romance of it all and then the reality don’t quite match each other. 😀 Wanting to start is 50% of the work already done Gingi. Good for you. Have a super day and thanks for stopping by.🙂 xo

  9. Yes, I’ve definitely fallen off the wagon. I spent all of last year getting myself into tip-top shape and then this year I went to uni and had to cancel my PT and put my gym membership on hold and I stopped going to swim squads. Now I’m 5kg heavier, I’ve lost all muscle tone and in that state of just not being able to get back into it. Thanks for the inspiration xx

    • I am battling to shed the extra couple of kilos Charlie. It has been harder getting back into things than I thought. You can afford the extra 5kg, me not so much. I will think of you when I hit the tar this afternoon. The holidays are a few sleeps away and I am no closer to being in the shape I had hoped. Have a beautiful week.🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

