Mango Torte

I guess I should have posted this recipe in the holidays but this is a wonderful summer recipe for any occasion.

mango-torte

Sorry about the mobile phone photo

MANGO TORTE

Ingredients

100g digestive / tennis / marie biscuits crushed
50g melted butter
ΒΌ cup sugar
3 Tbs cornstarch
1 cup evaporated milk
2 egg yolks lightly beaten
1 Tbs butter
1 tsp vanilla essence
4 mangoes sliced
Strawberries halved to decorate (optional)

Method

  1. Combine the crumbed biscuits and melted butter and press into a shallow pie dish and refrigerate.
  2. Mix the sugar and cornstarch in a small saucepan.
  3. Gradually add the evaporated milk and cook over a medium heat, stirring until thick.
  4. Add a heaped tablespoon of the milk mixture to the egg yolks and combine, then place into the saucepan with the remaining milk mixture and cook for a couple of minutes.
  5. Remove from the heat and stir in the butter and vanilla essence.
  6. Place custard mixture into the pie crust and top with the mango slices forming a rose pattern from the middle outwards.
  7. Decorate with strawberries (optional).
  8. Cover and chill until ready to serve.
44 thoughts on “Mango Torte

    • Thanks Judy. Must say the mango pieces weren’t too time consuming, thankfully and well worth the effort. I will definitely be making this again before mango season is over. Have a super week. πŸ™‚ xo

  1. Looks very delicious..and as it is summer in my part of the world, with mangoes aplenty, I think I will give it a go. Thanks for sharing. margaret

    • Aww, you are too kind darling Kim. Yay! So pleased your Christmas card finally arrived. Just wish it would have been before Christmas. This year I will post it in early November. πŸ˜€ Love. Hugs. More. all the way back to you. πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

  2. That a lovely looking dessert Mandy. Mangos are much easier to come by now that we live in Florida so this will be a nice treat when they are in season.

  3. This is one gorgeous torte, Mandy. Your dinner guests must have oohed and aahed when you sat it on the table. And rightfully so! You’ll have to show me how to make one when you visit. πŸ™‚

  4. That is absolutely a work of art, both culinary and visual! And an excellent shot, phone or no. I will gladly try to make something like this and I’m quite certain there’s nobody who would hesitate even slightly to taste (inhale) it even if I can’t make it nearly so gorgeous as yours. πŸ˜€

    Hope you’re doing splendidly these days, and thinking of you often. Big hugs from here, my sweet!
    Love,
    Kathryn

    • Kath, you are too kind, thank you! I too, think of you often. I am not in front of the computer much lately and getting further and further behind with reading posts. All is well and I am off to Kenya tomorrow to be with my Pete for 2 weeks. Can’t wait! Trust all is happy with you too. Much love and sunshine filled hugs to you. πŸ™‚ xoxoxo

      • I can’t criticize you for having been intermittent with the blog latelyβ€”considering I’ve essentially taken a whole year’s sabbatical, I’m far behind you myself, and in my case that’s both in writing/posting and reading others’ blogs. πŸ™‚ Life happens!! I’m so happy you get to be with Pete for a visit. It makes the times-between so much more bearable. Love and hugs back, and happy, happy travels!
        ❀

        • Thanks Kath. It’s wonderful being here with Pete. 2 flights later. We went for the most incredible 9km hike in the forest and saw 2 small buck which was amazing. Looking forward to more adventures the next 2 weeks. Love to you from a stormy Kenya. xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

