Crème Brûlée

Whilst I have always been thrilled with my Crème Brûlée recipe, I am always happy to find an excuse to try a new recipe and when I saw this gloriously simple one over at Giovanna’s  I knew it wouldn’t be long before I found a reason to try it.

This is also one of those wonderful desserts you can prepare the day before needed.

Crème Brûlée

As seen at:  Blue Jelly Beans

Ingredients

6 egg yolks
3 or 4 Tbsp sugar – I used 3 caster sugar
1 vanilla pod or 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract or natural essence
600ml cream
4 Tbsp brown sugar – I used caster sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 140°C.
  2. Beat  the yolks and sugar in a large bowl until creamy and light in colour.  I used electric beaters whilst Giovanna recommended using  a wooden spoon to prevent air bubbles while baking.
  3. Heat the vanilla and cream until before boiling point.  Remove from the heat and slowly add to the egg mixture, stirring continuously.
  4. Divide the mixture between 8 ramekins (You could also strain the mixture before pouring into the ramekins to prevent excess air bubbles) and place inside a baking tray and add boiling water until it reaches half way up the ramekins.
  5. Bake for 40 minutes until the custard sets.
  6. Cool and refrigerate until ready to serve.
  7. When ready to serve, sprinkle castor sugar over each custard and caramelise using a blowtorch or by placing them under the grill.
20 thoughts on “Crème Brûlée

  1. Yum, I love Creme brûlée. Your recipe is very similar to the recipe I make and you are right Mandy, it is very simple and very yummy. I find the hardest part is getting the blow torch to make a nice flame.

    • Aah yes, taming the blow torch can be quite a task Glenda. I must confess to having a crème brûlée for breakfast the day I took the photo! Oh well. Have a beautiful and happy week. 🙂 xo

  2. OOOOOOOOOOOOOO, YEESSSSSSSSS,
    my all time fave. dessert of all time.
    I actually have an EASY recipe for this, but I lost my torch!
    This looks incredible, Mandy.
    PS. what is caster sugar?
    How are you?

    xxxxxxx

    • Mine too! You can also put them under the grill so not a train smash having no torch. Caster sugar is a superfine sugar used mainly for baking.
      All well thanks my dear friend. Just 2 weeks and my Pete will be home for 2 weeks and then 4 days later I go back to Kenya. Can’t believe Pete hasn’t been home since 09 January! How are things with you? xoxoxo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

