Red Garlic Chicken

I read about this interesting sounding recipe over at Chef in Disguise and immediately went to check if I had all of the spices on hand – all but paprika so off to the shops it was plus a printed copy of the recipe to Mom for her opinion.  We both agreed, a must make it is.  We decided to skip the spuds and serve it with rice, sweet carrots and Brussel sprouts instead.  Next time around I would halve the oil asked for though – maybe the spuds would have absorbed some of the oil had we cooked them with the chicken as asked for in the original recipe.  This is a lovely tasty meal and the garlic flavour is surprisingly very mild.

Red Garlic Chicken

Ingredients

6 cloves garlic crushed
1/2 tsp dried ginger
1/2stp all spice
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp basil
1 tsp rosemary
1 tsp oregano
2 tsp salt
2-3 tbs tomato paste – we used 3
10ml sugar – our own addition
¼ cup olive oil
¼ cup vegetable oil – we recommend omitting this
1 whole chicken cut into 4 pieces – we used 8 chicken thighs
3-4 potatoes peeled and cubed – we omitted these

Method

  1. Whisk all of the herbs and spices together in a bowl while drizzling in the oil.
  2. Place the marinade in a ziplock back with the chicken and massage the marinade into the chicken.  Add the potatoes now if you are using them.  Set aside to marinate for a couple of hours.
  3. Preheat the oven to 200°C.
  4. Place the chicken (and potatoes) in a roasting dish and cover with tin foil.
  5. Bake for approximately 45 minutes until the chicken is cooked through.  To add a little bit more colour, place the chicken under the grill for a couple of minutes.

48 thoughts on “Red Garlic Chicken

  1. I LOVE a simple recipe that i can make earlier in the day, then set in the oven to cook slowly while I am out on the farm doing the evening chores. I think that this chicken is going to be a favourite around here.. c

  2. This reminds me of a recipe I saw using black garlic- something I had never heard of before. I love garlic with chicken.I think it brings out the best in the bird and creates such a moist texture for the skin. This looks amazing- cant’t wait to try it. Do you think we could do it on the grill too?

  3. Oh! I remember this one too! I think I put it in my chicken file as a must cook. I’ll keep that in mind with the oil, because we’ll likely skip the potatoes too. 🙂

  4. I am glad there is a “next time around”..:)
    I agree with you, if you are not adding the potatoes then 1/4 cup or less oil is more than enough
    Thank you for trying one of my recipes..I am honored

  5. Pingback: Marinade Recipes – Aromatic Finger Lickin’ Pork « Meanderings through my cookbook

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)