Mandy’s Moussaka

Two quick notes:  Firstly if you saw this last week, sorry about that – little gremlins crept into the works but I have managed to sort them out and secondly, my apologies if I have not made comment on your posts the last couple of days, things have been a touch on the busy side plus we made a quick trip away.  I will be back soon. 😀

You may wonder why I call this Mandy’s Moussaka.  Quite simply it’s not authentic and I would not want to insult any genuine Moussaka making Greek so rather played it safe.  Authentic or not, its scrumity.  We enjoyed this for dinner the evening Pete and my Mom drove down from Johannesburg.  Both Pete and Mom did say though that adding potato like with a traditional Moussaka would be nice.

Mandy's Moussaka

Mandy’s Moussaka

Ingredints

500g lamb mince
500g beef mince
2 onions sliced
½ tsp dried thyme
1 tsp corriander seed – ground in a pestle and mortar
½ cup red wine
½ cup beef stock
410g tin tomatoes
2 carrots scraped and grated
Salt and black pepper to taste
5 medium brinjal (eggplant / aubergine) sliced ¼ inch thick length ways
1½ cups cheddar cheese grated

Thick Bechamel Sauce

100g butter
100g flour
4 cups milk
Salt and white pepper to taste
1 egg

Method

  1. Fry both the lamb and beef mince until browned.
  2. Add the onions and fry until softened.
  3. Add the thyme, coriander, wine, stock and tomatoes and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the carrots and simmer until the liquid has reduced by half and thickened slightly.
  5. Fry the brinjal in batches in a little grapeseed oil until tender, drain on paper towel and set aside.
  6. In the meanwhile melt the butter and sir in the flour.
  7. Whisk in the milk and continue stirring until thickened and boiling.
  8. Season with salt and pepper and stir in the egg.
  9. Assemble the Moussaka by layering the mince and brinjals finishing with a layer of bechamel.
  10. Sprinkle the cheese over the top and bake at 180 °C for 45 minutes.

26 thoughts on “Mandy’s Moussaka

    • Lamb is traditionally used for moussaka so thought I would give it a whirl – not sure I would rush to use lamb again – it is quite fatty, although I could try using less lamb and more beef. Lovies, 🙂 xo

  1. Mandy, that looks so delicious! I love moussaka, and make a similar version, but like you, I’m hesitant to call it authentic for fear of insulting someone! Too funny! 🙂 PS. Love the egg in the bechamel – my Pete maintains it’s not a proper white sauce without it!

    • Thanks Celia! my Pete just wanted to know why there were so many veggies in his lasagne and what the heck happened to the pasta sheets. Funny man. Must say I don’t normal put an egg in a bechamel but think I shall try it again even when making a lasagne without so many veggies. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  2. I’ve never attempted moussaka, but the combination of flavors sounds wonderful. My husband would especially like this for dinner. I love that it is topped with bechemel and the beautiful golden color. Is it traditionally only made with just beef?

    • Hi Allison, thanks for stopping by. This is such a lovely recipe, I hope you can get to making it soon, albeit not authentic. I think the traditional recipe uses both beef and lamb, although I am sure family to family have their own variations. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  3. This looks like a superb version of moussaka to me! I think I’d probably try adding the potatoes by means of using potato flour in the bechamel in substitution for the regular flour. But I love the look of this just as-is, too!

  4. I made moussaka after this recipe and it was really really amazing 🙂 can only recommend giving it a try. I am thinking that I might put two more eggs in the bechamel sauce to make it a bit more stif/hardere next time. Thank you for this lovely recipe.
    Kristina

    • Hi Kristina, thank you for trying my moussaka recipe, and I am thrilled you enjoyed it and how lovely you will be trying it again with your own amendments. Have super day. 🙂 xo

  5. Pingback: Crete, island of | 6 Weeks with the Greeks

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)