Spring Garden

Seems the weather hasn’t quite decided if it is Spring yet.  We have had a few splashes of sun here and there with loads of rain and horrible gale winds.  It hasn’t dampened my excitement with getting going in the garden, although some of the seed I have planted may have blown or been washed into the neighbours garden – might have to fetch my veggies there once they grow. 🙂

You may remember the gent I bought our garden bench from a while ago.  I couldn’t help myself and bought this sweet bridge from him a couple of weeks back.  It only cost R200 (± USD $14.48).

IMG_7614

The veggie patch is doing well and our cauliflowers are coming along really nicely.

IMG_8142

The spinach has also grown in leaps and bounds.  I shall have to enjoy it soon before the garden critters finish it.

IMG_8143

The mini cabbages are also doing well after being thinned out.

IMG_8144

I planted pumpkin seed which shot up out of the ground a couple of days after planting – they will be thinned out soon too.

IMG_8136

Pumpkins for Africa!

Also new to the garden is zucchini – I am thrilled at how healthy they are looking.

IMG_8140

Not wanting to worry about stakes and the like, I planted bush beans.

IMG_8137

Naturally no garden would be complete without dill and coriander so they were planted too.

IMG_8139I have added a few more things: butternut, sweetcorn, lettuce, rhubarb, carrots, capsicums, parsley, thyme and lavender.  I am sure I have forgotten something in this list.

Our loquats are all ripening but seems the birds are beating us to them all.IMG_7651And passers by are all picking our lemons off the tree before we can.  IMG_8064

At least our peaches are hidden away and hopefully will be worm free again this year.

IMG_7620Now I patiently await our figs.

IMG_8062

40 thoughts on “Spring Garden

  1. Wow, your garden is doing well. Why do people pick your fruit without asking you first. OMG… I hope you get to enjoy those figs soon before the birds do. Have a super week.

  2. I do love the little bridge. And what a bargain (especially if you have US bucks!) Your vegetable garden is coming along so well – plenty of action. I can’t believe people are helping themselves to your lemons! xx

    • I am quite smitten with my little bridge. Thankfully the veggies are at the back of the garden so no unwanted hands taking what they shouldn’t. Have an awesome day Charlie. 🙂 xo

  3. Love, love your bridge. Your garden is coming along beautifully, I too have no luck with cauliflower so gave up. To protect your loquats and lemon have you thought about putting bird netting over the trees? That is a gorgeous fig tree, wish I could keep mine in the ground year round.

    • Hi Norma, we usually place little paper sandwich bags over the figs but never really thought about the other fruit trees. I don’t mind sharing with the birds. 😀 Have a beautiful week. 🙂 xo

  4. What a wonderful garden! Our leaves are falling and the temperatures are taking a plunge, pumpkins are on the porch and the garden is done. You have a gift for gardening – love those fuzzy peaches and figs – so jealous! Hope the weather calms down and warms up 🙂 Have a lovely week!

  5. What an extraordinary garden. You are outdoing yourself this year, my sweet! Despite having so little of what I consider a reasonable growing season here, I’m going to go ahead and do my usual toss-and-wish version of Fall planting this week just to take advantage of the short-term potential—and feed the birds well into the end of the season. My mouth was watering as I looked at your marvelous sprouts and fruits and thought of all the bounty that’s ahead for your magical kitchen. 😀 😀 😀 !!!
    xoxo,
    Kath

  6. A Lemon Tree!? OMgosh, on my walks, I think I may steal one or two! What a gift!
    And that bridge. Where was it? What does it have to say for itself?

    Luv from MN. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • You my darling Kim can have all of the lemons off our tree, any day!
      Think I should write a bridge post. 😀
      Have a beautiful and happy day with love from a very windy Sundays River. xoxoxoxo

  7. I love your little bridge – you just need to plant a cherry tree next to it and next year you’ll have your very own Japanese garden! They veggies are looking great but I am outraged that folk should htink it’s acceptable to pick your lemons. Cheeky so and sos 😦

  8. The bridge was less than $15USD? Amazing! That is truly a steel. I doubt you would find something like that here for less than $50USD. So cute! Your garden is looking delightful Mandy. I can’t wait to see what you cook up with everything. 🙂

  9. I loved that bench and I absolutely love this sweet bridge as well. It’s just so well made Mandy and it looks amazing in your space. And did you see that spinach? Well of course you did lol. It just made my mouth water so bad just now lol. I am so hungry now.

  10. I love your bridge and what a great price! You are so energetic with the garden and I’m feeling jealous that you’re looking forward to a nice wrong while we’re winding down getting ready to hunker down for the winter. We had an absolutely gorgeous, perfect day on Monday and for the past few mornings we’ve had to turn the heat on to take the chil out of the house.

  11. The fig tree looks DEVINE……………… can’t wait, that is if your Mom leaves anything on the tree …..hhahahaha.

    The coriander is the best news, I do battle to grow this herb.

    Cauliflower looks first class. Make some delish caulimash while Pete is here.

    We can’t plant anything at the moment, G is in the process of moving my water tank where the veg beds are, soooooo please have mercy on a poor friend and please share,

    Love,

    BERYL HEALY.

    • Speaking of water tanks, think it’s time we invested in another one. Must plan on where to put it though. Think we will he one of the new skinny ones. Have a beautiful day and here’s to us enjoying some figs soon. 🙂 xo

  12. I am in love with that little bridge, its so cute. And look at your veggie garden, its positively thriving, mine is still a few weeks from being anything great, but it is nice and green. How fabulous are the warmer days? And those scoundrels taking your lemons, how rude!
    Hope you are well my friend. Big happy hugs and hellos to you. xox

    • Hello sweetie. No sooner to we get the warmer days and then the rain sets in and the chill is back. Best be on its way soon as I need the summer.
      Love to you friend. Hope all is well with you. 🙂 xoxoxo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)