Goodbye sweet beautiful girl <3

I remember as clear as day the evening our precious little girl showed herself to me in Mauritius.  I was cooking dinner and she walked in from the patio and meow’ed hello.  I went down on my haunches, extended a finger and she immediately walked over and sat on my lap and never left it since.  She sat on my lap every day while I ate breakfast and while I sat at the computer and she slept, if not on me, next to me every night – under the covers in winter.  Poor island girl really felt the cold.  

Recently, she seemed a little flat; I initially put it down to the cold weather and she seemed happy snuggling and sleeping in her blankie.  Then I smelt a strange smell on her breathe and realised she was sick.

Pete was home and he too noticed the small changes in her.  A week later we took her to the vet who diagnosed her as having tick bite fever and feline aids.  It was a terrible shock but her prognosis seemed very positive.  We immediately started her on medication and special immune boosting food.

For 2 weeks we went to the vet if not every day, every other day.  They saw a lot of fight left in her and continued to inject her with antibiotics, liver support and saline.  I was now feeding and watering her every 4 hours using a syringe with small amounts of food and immune building muti as she was too weak to eat on her own, even though she desperately tried to, bless her little heart. Most times, we made it outside in time for a tinkle then she was too weak to even attempt to go outside.

The last 48 hours of her precious life were horrific as she was crying out in pain, battling to get sufficient oxygen and fitting.  I couldn’t bare seeing her suffer so.  It has been the most traumatic thing to endure and there was nothing I could do to help her or stop the gut wrenching pain!  I kept telling her how much I loved her and it was okay to let go, to go peacefully, to be pain free and I would be with her and hold her until the end. I did.

Rest gently sweet beautiful girl, you were very loved and the most wonderful dear companion I could ask for.  I miss you desperately and home is incomplete without you.  I love you. ❤

32 thoughts on “Goodbye sweet beautiful girl <3

  1. I am very, very sorry Mandy. This is devastating, I know. Your story brings it back for me. Loosing a beloved pet is a horrible experience. Will be thinking of you during this difficult time.

  2. Mandy,
    my heart is sad.
    It’s like losing part of your family, your child, your comforter.
    I believe in an animal kingdom. I do. I do. She is w/ Kay. She is holding her right now. xxxxxx from Duluth.

  3. Your pain is so raw and recent. Such a difficult thing to go through. You know I’m thinking of you and the loss of one of your little family. Big hug my dear friend xxx

  4. So sorry to hear about your lovely girl. Our pets (Labradors, cats and chickens) are our children to I can empathise. Thinking of you.

  5. Oh my. There are no words. I know people who have lost their children, but even they understand that there is such sadness associated with losing a pet. Makes me never want to have them ever again. I’m so sorry.

  6. Sweet Mandy, I’m heartsick for you. Bless the memory of your beautiful little kitty, and of the kind and caring love you gave her to the very last. Hugs and more hugs to you.
    xoxoxo,
    Kath

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

