Avocado and Salmon Mould

I love family gatherings where everybody is responsible for one course of the meal.  On a recent occasion, it was my duty to take care of starters.  We have been enjoying beautiful summer weather the last couple of weeks so I was in the mood for a cold and light start to our meal and albeit that this mould has cream and mayonnaise in it, it is still light enough if enjoyed in a small quantity.  I made it in my Tupperware ring mould which made for 20 perfect little segments.  This mould can easily be made a day ahead of time too as can the Rosemary Crackers I served it with.

Avocado and Salmon Mould

Ingredients

Avocado

15ml gelatine
60ml hot water
1 avocado mashed
150ml mayonnaise
15ml onion finely chopped
Lemon juice to taste
Salt and pepper to taste
150ml cream lightly whipped

Salmon

15ml gelatine
60ml hot water
1 tin pink salmon
100ml mayonnaise
15ml tomato sauce
Lemon juice to taste
Salt and pepper to taste
100ml cream lightly whipped

Method

Avocado

  1. Dissolve the gelatine in the hot water.
  2. Place the avocado, mayonnaise, onion and lemon juice in a bowl.
  3. Stir the gelatine into the avocado mixture.
  4. Fold in the cream.
  5. Pour into a ring mould and refrigerate.

 Salmon

  1. Dissolve the gelatine in the hot water.
  2. Place the tuna, mayonnaise, tomato sauce and lemon juice in a bowl.
  3. Stir the gelatine into the tuna mixture.
  4. Fold in the cream.
  5. Pour over the avocado mixture and refrigerate.

 

De-mould and serve.

50 thoughts on “Avocado and Salmon Mould

  1. We do the same in our family.. but this time I told everyone I would do it all! What was I thinking?? I’ll bookmark this one since I’m always looking for appetizer recipes that I can make ahead!

  2. I completely agree with you.. family gatherings are always fun (and sometimes stressful lol). And this avocado and salmon mold looks like a great party food for any event or party. Love the recipe Mandy

  3. I can just imagine sitting down to this on a warm summers eve as a light snack, glass of wine in hand while watching the sun go down. Delicious. Thanks for sharing.

  4. That is so beautiful and I bet the tastes were amazing! Great idea to all take charge of a course – much less hassle. I´ve made something similar in the past but not with the salmon too – I think this would be so good, am going to give it a try when the avocados here aren´t rock hard!

  5. Avocado and Salmon Mould – only thing missing is a glass of wine…. sounds awsome. I make “pitta chips” and think this would go wonderfully with as well..
    Pitta bread, open cut into segments, then wrap with cling wrap and freeze. Once frozen take place segments on baking tray and go wild with a home made pesto, ground salt & a pit of parmeson shavings. Bake in the oven until brown and crips.. Loose the cheese and can be stored in a air tight container for a week or so… will def make the mould and try with pitta..

  6. Oh I’m drooling, which is not a pretty sight! I would love to make this, but as you say it’s a summery dish. I would have to switch the gelatine for a veggie one, but I’ll still make it one day this summer. Thank you Claire

      • There are a few makes out there – I’ve used this kind before http://www.goodnessdirect.co.uk/cgi-local/frameset/detail/554045_Just_Wholefoods_Vegeset_25g.html
        (hope you don’t mind the link!) which work very well. I pick it up in health food shops. Good for deserts or for people who eat fish but not meat. I’ve also just discovered there are Kosher and Halal versions too
        Cream – is always an issue with me. To be honest I’d just use the cream, thoroughly enjoy the dish and then suffer🙂 Once in a while is ok fo rme. But the soya alternatives are gradually getting better but they do respond differently, especially when heated.

        • Claire, thank you so much – appreciate the link, now I know what I can look out for. I used to drink soya milk in my tea years ago but can’t remember the brand that I used – subsequently it is now off the market – eek, wonder why! I will what I can find in the health stores here.🙂

  7. How superb! and the avocado too i am so jealous! This is one I shall be back for in the summer.. and be careful of soy milk nowadays, find an organic one. I also used to drink it in my tea until i saw how absolutely destructive the crop is.. and the taste of the modern soy milks is very different, too many additives i guess. My brother in law did make his own at one time and it was very good.. c

    • Oh my, I never knew that a soy crop could be so destructive! Can’t say that I have been able to find one in recent years that I enjoy – how cool that your BIL made his own! Reckon I will stick to ‘Moo juice” as I call it for now. I am quite a fussy milk person too – I don’t enjoy the long life stuff and only buy fresh full cream from Woolworths. I am sure the skim/lowfat and fat free milks have had a lot done to them too plus I think they have added salt and sugar.
      I do hope that summer and avos are soon on their way to you C. Have a beautiful day.🙂

  8. This sounds like a great summer appetizer. The recipe will be going with me when we open the cottage in Maine. A make ahead dish is so good when entertaining friends.

  9. I always loved our family gatherings but they are pretty rare these days. Our family has grown and spread out around the country. You just cannot make a few phone calls and get the group together without involving trains, planes, and automobiles. I’m happy for you, though, that your family still does it. Enjoy these special times and I’ll enjoy them vicariously through you. 🙂

    • John, I must say that we are very privileged to be able to get together this time of year, although I must say that it too involves, trains, planes and automobiles as we are also spread quite far apart. My folks and hubby Pete are all leaving on Sunday so I will be all alone from then for a couple of weeks – I am starting to suffer empty nest syndrome already! Have a happy day.🙂

  10. Thats a great idea to take charge of a course! I’m going to offer that idea up next time a dinner party is planned for others to bring something. I like this too as it can be made ahead!

    • Hi Jed, hmm, how to explain what it tastes like… the texture is smooth and creamy with the avo layer being a little lighter and smoother in texture to the salmon and has a velvety creamy avo flavour while the taste of the salmon, mayo and cream is softer in flavour to tuna. Oh my, not sure that is helping… hope this makes sense. Have a super day.🙂

  11. I don’t know that I’ve ever had a mould before. I know I’ve never made one. It sounds very good – especially with your crackers. Your weather also sounds wonderful.😉

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

