Olive Oil Chocolate Chiffon Cake

And yes I turned it into cupcakes! πŸ™‚

My mom gave me this Angela Day recipe which she saw in the Monday 03 June 2013 issue of The Star’s Verve. Β Angela was running a series for using olive oil in baking as a healthier alternative to other oils.

I love the idea of healthier baking, just wish it worked out more cost effective though as olive oil isn’t a particularly cheap product to use. Β  I would also stick to using a mild flavoured olive oil as the more robust oils may alter the taste of the cake.

The original recipe called for a chocolate glaze, which would have been lovely but sadly I didn’t have any dark chocolate on hand so made my standard icing.

The cupcakes turned out beautifully and I enjoyed lots of compliments when I served them for dessert with friends.

Olive oil chocolate chiffon cupcakes

Olive Oil Chocolate Chiffon Cake (Cupcakes)

The mixture made 18 muffin sized cupcakes

Ingredients

80ml cocoa powder
125ml hot water
250ml flour
10ml baking powder
125ml castor sugar
3ml salt
4 eggs separated
125ml olive oil
80ml extra castor sugar

Chocolate glaze
100g dark chocolate chopped
100ml cream

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180Β°C.
  2. Mix together the cocoa and hot water and set aside to cool.
  3. Sift the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into a bowl.
  4. Make a well in the centre of the flour and add the egg yolks, olive oil and cooled cocoa mixture and mix until smooth.
  5. Beat the egg whites until stiff, then beat in the extra castor sugar.
  6. Fold this mixture into the cocoa mixture.
  7. Pour into an ungreased chiffon cake tin alternatively divide the mixture amongst 18 muffin tins lined with paper cases.
  8. Bake the cake for 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean alternatively if baking the cupcakes, bake for 10 minutes.
  9. Combine the chocolate and cream in a bowl and microwave on 50% power for 2 minutes and stir well until smooth.
  10. Refrigerate until thickened then pour over the cake or cupcakes. (The glaze is thinner than a ganache).
60 thoughts on “Olive Oil Chocolate Chiffon Cake

  1. Oh those look so very pretty! I love recipes that use olive oil as butter is available here but a pain to get home if you don’t remember to take your cool bag with you πŸ™‚

  2. I have always wanted to try a version of the olive oil cake Mandy, thank you for printing this. I hope I can make this work because these look incredibly good. Well done! With gorgeous pictures….as always πŸ™‚

    • It would have been fabulous to enjoy one with you over a cup of tea Diane. I think it is the angle of the camera as they are my standard cases, although this mixture did bake “up” slightly differently to all my other recipes where these baked straight up and all the others kind broaden at the top. Have a beautiful weekend. πŸ™‚ xo

  3. I bake so few cakes and things but I really would like to try baking with olive oil sometime. These cupcakes would be a great place to start. They look so delicious, Mandy! That’s one eye-catching photo, too. Well done!

  4. I’m not surprised you received lots of compliments, Mandy! I bet they tasted lovely, but the presentation is beautiful. How did you get them so high like that? The height makes them look more like little mini-cakes than regular cupcakes. And you’ve done a pretty job frosting them, I think they look perfect just the way you’ve made them! xx

  5. Hello. First time for me to know that we can measure dry ingredients in ml… Can I have the weight o the dry ingredients in cups or grams? I don’t seem to find a way to convert them. Thank you

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

