Brandy (Ginger) Snaps

Back in April, I won a copy of Bon Appetit, Mr President from the kitchen of Hilton Little, chef to the President of South Africa from the lovely Colleen aka BrownieGirl. 🙂  It was posted home so I was unable to read it until we returned home from Mauritius.

With being away from home for two and a half years left more repair and replacement than we care to remember, so while we were getting things back to ‘normal’, my book had to wait patiently on my office desk.

Finally after being able to read through this lovely book I was unable to make a decision on what to make first – I decided I would close the book and open it randomly – hoping it would not land on a page for Sheeps Head and Trotter or Boild Brains – I simple cannot bring myself to cook something like this.  To my relief it opened up to the page for Brandy Snaps.  I am not sure that mine are neat or pretty enough but I did enjoy making them and will definitely do so again.

Brandy Snaps

taken from Bon Appetit, Mr President

Ingredients

50g (just over 80ml) cake flour
2.5ml (½ tsp) ground ginger
50g (¼ cup) soft brown sugar – I used normal brown sugar
60ml (¼ cup) golden syrup
50g butter
5ml (1 tsp) lemon juice

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C (375°F) and spray a baking tray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. To make the dough, sift the flour and ground ginger into a mixing bowl.
  3. Put the sugar, golden syrup and butter in a saucepan and stir over a low heat until the butter has melted.
  4. Remove from the heat and stir in the flour.  Blend well and mix in the lemon juice.
  5. Spoon small teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto the greased baking tray, placing no more than six brandy snaps on a tray and keeping them well apart as the mixture spreads during baking.  Place the tray in the centre of the oven and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until light brown.
  6. Roll each biscuit around the greased handle of a wooden spoon or pastry horn while still hot, and when crisp, slip the snaps off the handle or horn ready for the next batch.
  7. Set side to cool.  Should the biscuits become too hard to roll, return them to the oven for a few minutes.
There was also a rum cream  – I skipped this.
Rum Cream – whipped fresh cream flavoured with run, or any essence of your choice.
Before serving, fill the rolls with the rum cream.
I am just not sure why they are called brandy snaps when there is no brandy in them – all the same they are well worth making.
Next up from the book… Buttermilk Rusks.

67 thoughts on “Brandy (Ginger) Snaps

    • Thanks Cindy. Mostly happy – there are quite a few things that are… let’s just say, not like I left them! Fear not, Pete and I have decided that just as soon as we can, we will turf some more goodies and replace them with nice new ones. Have a happy weekend. 🙂 xo

  1. There is a fabulous programme in the UK called the Great British Bake Off and they made brandy snaps this week and it reminded me to look out for a good recipe. Voila! I’ve also moulded them around a ramekin and made them into baskets for icecream – looks very show-offy and goes down a treat. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. Oh is this a cigar like sweets? They are called Brandy Snaps? I didn’t know that! This is my favorite snacks and now my kids’ too. Looks so good and never thought of making homemade version! Mandy, this looks really good!

    • Personally I would call them ginger snaps Nami – I am sure the brandy version actually has brandy or brandy essence in them. They are super easy to make and really very yummy. Have a happy weekend. 🙂

  3. I’ve never seen gingersnaps made this way… Thanks for the variation! I’ll given them a try soon but wondered if you could tell what golden syrup is.. maybe what we call corn syrup here in the states?

    • Hi Amy, thanks for stopping by. Golden syrup is a pale treacle and is made from sugar cane and can be used as a substitute for corn syrup which is made from the starch of maize. Hope this helps. Have a happy weekend. 🙂

  4. Call them what you like, Mandy, I’ll call them delicious! I’ll definitely be giving these a try but first I have to find some golden syrup. Thanks for sharing and have a great weekend.

    • Oh no, how do you survive without cream :-0 – we were even able to get cream in Mauritius although not fresh milk a lot of the time which was more frustrating. Enjoy your holiday and looking forward to hearing about it when you return. 🙂

  5. I may be wrong, but I think these delicious little biscuits were sometimes filled with a brandy cream, hence the brandy snaps?? You’re brave tackling these, Mandy – I don’t think I have the courage 🙂

  6. You are brilliant.. mum used to make these and I never could,.I will try these and then stuff them full of cream and munch munch, splatter splatter, lick lick! thank you mandy darling..

    • Thanks so much Anna! I was quite impressed with my first go – although I think they could have been a little more uniform. I will just have to make them again soon to practice. 😉 Have a happy weekend. 🙂

    • Welcome and thanks for stopping by. I am so sorry to disappoint, I am sure you could add brandy into the mix – I may just try that next time around to make them real brandy snaps. Have a supr weekend. 🙂

  7. These Brandy Snaps sound absolutely delicious. I’m thinking these would be perfect for the holidays or even a day when it’s cold outside and I want to snack on something delectable. Wonderful recipe

  8. You have reminded me! I have been meaning to make these for a long time now, ever since my friend sent me a recipe. It’s at the top of my food to-do list!

  9. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)